Ad closing in seconds....

Niall Mackenzie’s son begins bid for glory

Published: 10 November 2008

Updated: 24 November 2014

Taylor Mackenzie, son of triple MCN British Superbike champion and former factory MotoGP star Niall Mackenzie, has successfully qualified for the 2009 Red Bull Rookies Cup.

Mackenzie was one of nine riders from 32 young hopefuls who were picked for next year’s series after a two-day selection course at the Estoril circuit in Portugal last weekend.

Youngsters hoping for their big racing break came from New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Malaysia and across Europe from Sweden to the Czech Republic.

British rider Fraser Rogers has also made the cut for the 2009 Rookies Cup, which sees a crop of the brightest young talent in the world take part in the search for future world champions.

Rogers might only be 12 but he is already well experienced for his age, having won the 2008 British Superteen series. He became the first rider to win the crown in his rookie campaign since a certain Aussie Casey Stoner, who won the title back in 2000. Since his early days of road racing in the UK, Stoner has gone on to become MotoGP world champion and one of legendary Italian Valentino Rossi’s fiercest rivals.

Rogers, who has been racing since the age of six, loved the Estoril circuit and said: "I like Donington but this is more fun I think, wicked. It is also more technical and it's warmer here.

"I like this track's tight twisty corners but it is also flowing. At home I race an RS125 Aprilia but the Metrakit is smaller, faster, nicer really, I like it. I really want to get into the Rookies Cup, it's wicked, I want to race on the same tracks as the MotoGP guys and be in the same paddock.

"I've learnt a bit of Spanish and French, enough to order food and say if the bike is good or not," said Rogers.

Provisional 2009 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Entry List

Robin Barbosa (FRA)
Brad Binder (RSA)
Deane Brown (GBR)
Kevin Calia (ITA)
Alessio Cappella (ITA/NGR)
Xavier Figueiras (ESP)
Hayden Gillim (USA)
Daijiro Hiura (JPN)
Taylor Mackenzie (GBR)
Nelson Major (FRA)
Florian Marino (FRA)
Dylan Mavin (AUS)
Leandro Mercado (ARG)*
Jakub Kornfeil (CZE)
Alexander Kristiansson (SWE)
Manuel Pardo (ITA)
Alex Rins (ESP)
Fraser Rogers (GBR)
Daniel Ruiz (ESP)
Mathew Scholtz (RSA)
Arthur Sissis (AUS)
Benny Solis (USA)
Harry Stafford (GBR)
Nico Thöni (AUT)

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)