Ad closing in seconds....

Yoshimura Suzuki win storm-lashed Suzuka eight hour

Published: 26 July 2009

Updated: 24 November 2014

The Yoshimura Jomo Suzuki team won this weekend’s Suzuka Eight Hour that was battered by storms.

Rain and high winds reached typhoon proportions, necessitating deployment of the safety car periods on five different occasions.

Yoshimura’s all-Japanese pairing of Daisaku Sakai and Kazuki Tokudome led from the first hour to the chequered flag, clocking 183 laps – one more than second place finishers Hitoyasu Izuktsu, Shinya Takeishi and Ruyji Tsuruta on a Trick Star Racing ZX-10R.

The Kawasaki team though finished just 20s ahead of the Sakurai Honda, ridden by Takumi Takashi and Chojun Kameya.

Best placed European team, in this fourth round of the World Endurance championship, was Yamaha Austria with Igor Jerman, Steve Martin and Gwen Giabbani on 181 laps.

British-based Phase One Yamaha were 12th with 176 laps with a team consisting of BSB rider Graeme Gowland, Pedro Vallacaneras and Damien Cudlin.  

Photos courtesy of Riding Sport, Japan

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)