2014 Garmin Arenacross Tour blasts off in Belfast!

1 of 1

The 2014 Garmin Arenacross Tour blasted off at Belfast’s Odyssey Arena where 10,000 fans turned out over two nights to experience the start of Europe’s biggest indoor race series.

An international field of 24 Pro riders, 48 Youth racers and five Freestyle Motocross heroes from 10 different countries showcased their skills in front of the passionate Northern Irish fans over the course of Friday and Saturday nights.

The two three-and-a-half shows – set to a pumping soundtrack with spectacular lasers – featured some of the biggest names in global dirt bike racing with riders travelling from as far afield as Australia, South Africa and the USA to compete.

Spanish legend Edgar Torronteras led the Freestyle athletes while closer to the ground it was Frenchman Fabien Izoird who came away from the opening two rounds with a slender one point championship lead over Birmingham’s Steven Clarke with Australian Daniel McCoy in third a further eight points adrift.

The championship now moves to the LG Arena, Birmingham, on January 25 for the third event in the seven-round series.

For more information and to buy tickets go to www.arenacrossuk.com

Main Event – Friday
1 Steven Clarke   (UK - Dyer & Butler KTM)
2 Kristian Whatley   (UK - MBO Sport ASA Yamaha)
3 Fabian Izoird   (F – LPE Racing Kawasaki)
4 Daniel McCoy   (Aus – MBO Sport ASA Yamaha)
5 Loic Rombaut   (F – LPE Racing Kawasaki)
6 Bryan MacKenzie   (Scot – Pendrich Kawasaki)
7 Cyrille Coulon   (F – SR75-Molson Suzuki)
8 Neville Bradshaw   (SA – Putoline Apico Honda)
9 James Harrison   (UK - Putoline Apico Honda)
10 Brad Anderson   (UK – Buildbase Honda)

Main Event – Saturday
1 Fabian Izoird   (F – LPE Racing Kawasaki)
2 Steven Clarke   (UK - Dyer & Butler KTM)
3 Elliott Banks-Browne  (UK – Buildbase Honda)
4 Loic Rombaut   (F – LPE Racing Kawasaki)
5 Cyrille Coulon   (F – SR75-Molson Suzuki)
6 Daniel McCoy   (Aus – MBO Sport ASA Yamaha)
7 Luke Arbon    (Aus – Dave Thorpe ORC Honda)
8 Jamie Law   (UK - Dyer & Butler KTM)
9 Brad Anderson  (UK – Buildbase Honda)
10 Neville Bradshaw  (SA – Putoline Apico Honda)

1 Izoird 42 points
2 Clarke 41
3 McCoy 33
4 Rombaut 30
5 Coulon 27
6 Whatley 25
7 Bradshaw 24
8 Banks-Browne 22
9 Anderson
10 Law 18


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…



The voice of motorcycling since 1955