Ad closing in seconds....

Tomac takes second Supercross victory of the year

Published: 24 March 2015

Updated: 29 March 2015

Geico Honda rider Eli Tomac has taken his second AMA Supercross win of the year, after taking the lead from championship leader Ryan Dungey on the fourth lap and never looking back.

Lining up in front of 46,000 fans in Detroit’s Ford Field stadium, the Honda rider scrapped in the opening laps with the Red Bull KTM of Dungey, but after breaking clear was able to immediately clear off at the front, leading by over five seconds at the half way point.

However, it was a less successful night for the factory Honda team. Trey Canard, who currently sits second to Dungey in the title fight, crashed heavily in qualifying, breaking his arm and ruling himself out of the rest of the intense Supercross season.

Speaking after surgery on the arm, the Californian racer admitted his chances of returning to the indoor series this year were slim: “The surgery went really well, and we’re hoping for the best in terms of recovery time. The doctors said it will likely be six to eight weeks, but we’ll have a better idea after seeing the X-rays. I start physical therapy tomorrow and am going to do everything I can to get back to action as soon as possible.”

450SX Class Results: Detroit

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  3. Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
  4. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
  5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
  6. Josh Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
  7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
  8. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
  9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
  10. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 271
  2. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204
  3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 194
  4. Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 180
  5. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 170
  6. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 156
  7. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 154
  8. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 145
  9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 136
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 134 
Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)