EWC: Miller heads all-star line-up for Suzuka 8 Hour

1 of 1

Marc VDS Honda MotoGP rider Jack Miller will head up an all-star line-up for this year’s prestigious Suzuka 8 Hour field, with a grid studded with world champions and top level racers from Grand Prix, World Superbikes and British Superbikes.

Miller leads the MuSASHi HARC-PRO Honda team alongside fellow Grand Prix winner and 2018 premiere class graduate Takaaki Nakagami, with multiple Suzuka winner and former MotoGP wildcard Takumi Takahashi joining them at Honda’s full-factory effort.

They’ll be rivalled by another Honda team of Grand Prix and WSBK stars, however, with former Moto2 world champion Stefan Bradl and current Moto2 racer Dominique Aegerter being joined by MotoGP podium finisher Randy de Puniet.


They’ll be challenged by defending champions Yamaha on their own full-factory effort, with MotoGP test rider Kats Nakasuga joined by their World Superbike duo of Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark.

The Suzuki effort will be a BSB-focused team with British rivals Sylvain Guintoli and Josh Brookes teaming up for Yoshimura Suzuki alongside the Hamamatsu manufacturer’s Grand Prix test rider Takuya Tsuda.

And Kawasaki won’t be left out of the party either, with their factory-supported team led by Leon Haslam, joined by Japanese Superbike front-runner Kazuma Watanabe and former Moto2 racer Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman.

And behind the full-factory efforts will be a host of other familiar faces, with British Superbike familiar faces Jason O’Halloran, Dan Linfoot and Christian Iddon all heading for the blisteringly hot race, with O’Halloran joining former BSB champion and most successful Suzuka winner ever Ryuichi Kiyonari.

Practice action for this year’s race kicks off on 27th July, with race day the 30th.

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN’s Bikes For Sale App.

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer