Ad closing in seconds....

Is Tai Woffinden your 2018 MCN Racer of the Year?

Published: 01 January 2019

Updated: 19 December 2018

After another epic season of racing, MCN’s sports team of Michael Guy (Sports Editor), Simon Patterson (MotoGP reporter) and Oli Rushby (Superbike reporter) sat down to discuss who impressed them the most in each race series we cover – and to whittle down a shortlist of exactly who was the most impressive racers of the season.

With that in mind, we’ve came up with a list of seven – but we need your help to cut that down to award the 59th running of our Racer of the Year award!

Tai Woffinden

Tai Woffinden did something special this year in the Speedway GP championship, joining fellow Brits Freddie Williams and Peter Craven as a three-time world champion in the class. Winning the title in style in Poland by also winning the event, it marks his third title in only six years in the series.

Taking three more wins alongside his Polish victory for the title and looking to be in control of the title battle all season long, he didn’t get it all wrapped up quite the way he’d have liked though, admitting that he won the championship with a broken foot from the final night.

Elevating himself into the category of speedway great with the win, he’s set his target on higher glory for the future, though. He says he’s ready to race for even more history as he bids to become only the third rider to retain the sport’s biggest prize in 2019.

To have your say on who should be the 2018 MCN Racer of the Year, click here to vote.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)