HM Plant Hondas dominate Snetterton

1 of 1

Ryuichi Kiyonari took a double win at Snetterton to take the lead in the British Superbike championship, with team-mate Jonathan Rea following up in second both times.

Kiyonari now leads the BSB title race as the Honda duo fly out to Japan to test for the Suzuki Eight Hours. By contrast the Airwaves Ducati team had a dismal day, as Gregorio Lavilla came away with just one sixth place, retiring from race two with technical problems, and now trails the Japanese reigning champion by 11 points. The only high point for the Ducati team was the third place for Leon Haslam in race one, and a fifth in the second race.

Shane Byrne also had a disapointing weekend after qualifying in pole position. He retired in the first race due to a stone damaging the speed sensor on the Stobart Honda, but took a consoloation third place in race two.

Leon Camier had a great race day after problems with his bike in qualifying saw him at the back of the grid. In race one, he finished in fifth place, ahead of Lavilla, and race two saw him run through the pack to sixth, behind Haslam. He was helped somewhat by the pace car taking to the track after Michael Rutter fell, with his MSS Discovery Kawasaki catching fire.

Meanwhile Marty Nutt took a double in the privateers race, after Tristan Palmer through away a race one win after highsiding at the final chicane.

In Supersport, it was Ian Lowry from Michael Laverty and Dennis Hobbs.

BSB Race one results:

Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Honda 24:00.140
Jonathan Rea GBR Honda 24:00.417
Leon Haslam GBR Ducati 24:08.349
Tom Sykes GBR Honda 24:13.121
Leon Camier GBR Honda 24:14.325
Gregorio Lavilla ESP Ducati 24:14.519
Tommy Hill GBR Yamaha 24:18.611
Cal Crutchlow GBR Suzuki 24:21.527
Chris Walker GBR Suzuki 24:28.395
Tommy Bridewell GBR Suzuki 24:28.692
Michael Rutter GBR Kawasaki 24:30603
Simon Andrews GBR Yamaha 24:38.085
Karl Harris GBR Honda 24:40.208
Scott Smart GBR Kawasaki 24:41.826
Steve Plater GBR Yamaha 24:48.513
Aaron Zanotti GBR Yamaha 24:49.184
Peter Hickman GBR Kawasaki 24:49.486
Ollie Bridewell GBR Suzuki 24:50.424
Hudson Kennaugh GBR Yamaha 24:54.217
Marty Nutt GBR Yamaha 25:05.561
James Buckingham GBR Honda 25:05.933
Tom Tunstall GBR Honda 24:12.016 1 lap
Malcolm Ashley GBR Kawasaki 24:28.760 1 lap

BSB Race two results:

Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Honda 26:56.071
Jonathan Rea GBR Honda 26:56.696
Shane Byrne GBR Honda 26:56.991
Tom Sykes GBR Honda 27:00.311
Leon Haslam GBR Ducati 27:00.383
Leon Camier GBR Honda 27:01.721
Tommy Hill GBR Yamaha 27:02.147
Scott Smart GBR Kawasaki 27:06.601
Chris Walker GBR Suzuki 27:06.791
Ollie Bridewell GBR Suzuki 27:09.945
Aaron Zanotti GBR Yamaha 27:10.297
Hudson Kennaugh GBR Yamaha 27:10.321
Dean Thomas AUS Suzuki 27:12.694
Chris Martin GBR Honda 27:15.986
Karl Harris GBR Honda 27:29.869
Marty Nutt GBR Yamaha 27:35.189
James Buckingham GBR Honda 27:37.918
Paul Barron GBR Yamaha 27:40.666
Malcolm Ashley GBR Kawasaki 27:43.600
Neil Faulkner GBR Yamaha 27:49.713
Tom Tunstall GBR Honda 27:43.411



MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk