Stuart Higgs: "We've got more champions than last year"

1 of 1

British Superbike Series Organiser, Stuart Higgs, has said there is more established talent in the championship for 2009 despite losing the top four from 2008.

When 2008 Champion Shane Byrne and Leon Haslam, Cal Crutchlow and Tom Sykes all announced their departures to WSB, there were fears of the series going into disrepair.

But following the signatures of riders for most of the major teams, Higgs says there is plenty to look forward to in 2009.

“The pedigree of the six riders joining the championship for this year have as good a background as the four who have left from 2008, or even better,” he said.

“We’ve got Guintoli, Brookes, Walker, Richards, Gowland and Da Costa all competing in BSB this season. Da Costa is a two-time World Champion, Guintoli is an established GP rider and Graeme Gowland has won more championships than Tom Sykes.”

The British Superbike season is set to kick off on April 13 at Brands Hatch.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff