Cadwell Park BSB – Free Practice 3

1 of 1

Leon Camier heads into this afternoon’s British Superbike ‘Roll for Pole’ qualifying at Cadwell Park in practically untouchable form, the Airwaves Yamaha rider again in imperious in the final free practice session this morning.

Camier was true to his word and went quicker than yesterday, a time of 1m27.382s after 35 minutes sending him an astonishing 1.166s clear. Whilst a race situation may be a different ball game, it’s hard to see anything but two more wins heading the title-elect’s way.

Just like yesterday, Ian Lowry was the first to lay down a marker, a time of 1m28.617s on his seventh lap placing him at the top of the timesheets after 20 minutes but he was unable to go any quicker on the Relentless by TAS Suzuki and he was ultimately knocked back to fourth in the final ten minutes of the session.

It was the Hydrex Honda duo of Stuart Easton and Karl Harris that overhauled him, the pair posting near identical times in the 1m28.5s bracket, whilst Julien da Costa, a winner here in 2004 in the Superstock class, continued to shine on the MSS Colchester Kawasaki with the fifth fastest time.

One of the stars of the session was undoubtedly Graeme Gowland who occupied second place on the 30-minute mark and although he ended up sixth, the 23-year old, who’s only ridden at Cadwell three times prior to this weekend, continues to impress in his debut BSB season.

Karl Muggeridge, racing at Cadwell for the first time since 1999, continually lowered his times this morning and placed seventh on the HM Plant Honda whilst John Laverty jumped up from 13th to 5th in the final ten minutes, eventually placing eighth.

Meanwhile, Sylvain Guintoli’s comeback continues to go smoothly, the Frenchman taking another half second off his best time from yesterday to end up ninth.

Simon Andrews took the final place in the top ten just ahead of James Ellison whilst John McGuinness ended up 14th having been once again forced to miss the second part of the session, this time due to a dropped valve on the second HM Plant Honda.

1 Leon Camier (Airwaves Yamaha) 1m27.382s
2 Stuart Easton (Hydrex Honda) +1.116s
3 Karl Harris (Hydrex Honda) +1.213s
4 Ian Lowry (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) +1.235s
5 Julien da Costa (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.473s
6 Graeme Gowland (Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha) +1.483s
7 Karl Muggeridge (HM Plant Honda) +1.595s
8 John Laverty (Buildbase Kawasaki) +1.668s
9 Sylvain Guintoli (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +1.708s
10 Simon Andrews (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.749s

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Phil Wain

By Phil Wain