BSB Snetterton 300: Kiyonari takes race two win

1 of 1

HM Plant Honda rider Ryuichi Kiyonari took his seventh victory at Snetterton in the final race of the day, snatching the lead as John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) clashed with Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) trying to make a pass in the final lap of the restarted race. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) took advantage of the melee to secure second place, whilst Hopkins salvaged third.

The incident strewn race saw Hopkins make a strong start to take the lead, with Kiyonari following close behind, but Hopkins ran wide going into the Montral hairpin causing Kiyonari to sit up. Tommy Hill, who was close behind in third was forced to take evasive action, causing him to clip Kiyonari's rear wheel and crash out of the race. Despite making his way back to the pits, Hill was unable to join the restarted race.

Hopkins was leading, with Kiyonari and Brookes completing the top three, when the red flag was shown on lap eight following a heavy crash at the end of the main straight involving Simon Andrews and Steve Brogan after Alex Lowes' MSS Colchester Kawasaki suffered mechanical failure. Andrews emerged from the crash with a broken leg, whilst Brogan sustained a shoulder injury.

With the race restarted over nine laps, Hopkins made another strong start, leading Brookes, Byrne and Kiyonari. Byrne was soon able to pass Brookes on the brakes going into Riches to take second, before closing the gap on Hopkins. Kiyonari moved past Brookes at Agostini to take third place.

Byrne secured the lead on the penultimate lap with clean pass on the inside going into Coram, leading Hopkins to hang on to Byrne, looking for an opportunity to reclaim first. Hopkins tried to make a pass at Oggies, but ran wide and collided with Byrne, shunting the HM Plant Honda rider on to the grass. Kiyonari and Brookes seized the opportunity to take first and second whilst Byrne and Hopkins battled to stay upright. The Californian rider was able to rejoin to secure third ahead of Byrne.

Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) took fifth place, finishing ahead of Martin Jessopp who achieved his best result of the season so far in sixth for Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati. Loris Baz (Motorpoint Yamaha) took seventh, finishing ahead of Chris Walker (Pr1mo Racing Kawasaki) in eighth and Buildbase BMW rider Ian Lowry in ninth. American Jake Zemke (WFR Honda) completed the top ten and secured his first BSB Evo race win.

1 Ryuichi Kiyonari HM Plant Honda 16:24.190
2 Josh Brookes Relentless Suzuki by TAS +0.810
3 John Hopkins Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki +1.518
4 Shane Byrne HM Plant Honda +3.550
5 Michael Laverty Swan Yamaha +4.819
6 Martin Jessopp Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati +9.648
7 Loris Baz Motorpoint Yamaha +9.815
8 Chris Walker Pr1mo Racing Kawasaki +16.360
9 Ian Lowry Buildbase BMW +18.208
10 Jake Zemke WFR Honda +20.145

BSB Championship standings after Snetterton
1 Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 201 pts
2 John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) 182 pts
3 Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 140 pts
4 Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 120 pts
5 Micheal Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 119 pts
6 Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) 91 pts

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Tom Cambio

By Tom Cambio