Oulton Park BSB: Walker wins wet first race

1 of 1

Bournemouth Pr1mo Kawasaki rider Chris Walker has taken his 21st race victory in BSB in wet conditions at Oulton Park today.

Walker last won a BSB race at Brands Hatch in 2000.

It was Shane Byrne who got to the holeshot and opened up a comfortable lead of three seconds ahead of Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes. Yesterday's race winner Tommy Hill was in third position.

None of the top three were able to hold off Walker as he made his charge to the front, eventually taking the lead from Byrne on lap 15.

Michael Rutter was one of a handful of riders who chose intermediate tyres, but Rutter retired towards the end of the race. Graeme Gowland also chose intermediate tyres and managed to set the fastest lap on a drying track to set pole position for the second race.

After second place in yesterday's dry race, Noriyuki Haga struggled in the difficult conditions today, getting a slow start. Haga finished 13th.


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer