Shakey Byrne wins exclusive Torrens Trophy

1 of 3

Reigning MCE British Superbike champion Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne has won the RAC Club’s exclusive Torrens Trophy, becoming only the eighth person to be awarded the trophy since it’s introduction in 1978.

Byrne was presented with the award at the RAC Club’s historic Pall Mall clubhouse, after a record-breaking season that saw him become the most successful British Superbike rider of all time by lifting his fourth crown in the class.

He beat off stiff opposition for the coveted trophy, with other nominated riders including MotoGP racer Scott Redding and Isle of Man TT winners Michael Dunlop and John McGuinness.

Byrne said: “It is wonderful to be recognised for achievements, especially ones that you have worked so hard for so many years to earn, which I believe to be the case with the four titles. I think this is a great honour for both me and the MCE British Superbike Championship. The fourth title meant the world to me and I am really honoured that it has been taken into account and I am looking forward to trying to do it all over again this season!”

Past winners include British World Superbike champions Tom Sykes and James Toseland, BMW (for their introduction of ABS to motorcycles) and Metropolitan Police bike safety officer Ian Kerr among past recipients.

The trophy was awarded after a decision by the committee, which consists of ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, MCN contributor Mat Oxley, former racer and commentator Steve Parrish and Arthur Bourne’s son Richard Bourne, whom the trophy is named for.

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer