BSB: Updated: 2019 grid so far

1 of 1

Following a busy week of announcements at the Motorcycle Live show, the 2019 Bennetts British Superbike grid is starting to look complete.

Today’s news that Josh Elliott will join Luke Mossey in the OMG Racing team after the departure of Gino Rea sees the grid take one further step to completion with just a handful of rides remaining.

It was confirmed at the bike show on Saturday that World Superbike star Xavi Fores will join Andrew Irwin in the Honda team while Dan Linfoot moves to the TAG Racing squad alongside Shaun Winfield.

James Ellison revealed he’d spend another year in BSB with a switch to the Smiths Racing team alongside Peter Hickman on the new BMW S1000RR.

Christian Iddon and Keith Farmer were announced as Tyco BMW’s superbike line-up while rookies Matt Truelove and David Allingham will make their BSB debuts in 2019 aboard Yamaha machinery with the Raceways Yamaha and EHA Racing squads respectively.

Jason O’Halloran and Tarran Mackenzie will form the official McAMS Yamaha squad, with Josh Brookes moving to Be Wiser Ducati to partner Scott Redding aboard the all-new Panigale V4 R.

Glenn Irwin moves from the Be Wiser Ducati effort to champions JG Speedfit Kawasaki and is joined by Ben Currie, the pairing enjoying a successful first test at Guadix earlier this month.

One of few riders to stay with the same team for 2019, Bradley Ray will remain with Buildbase Suzuki alongside an as of yet unnamed team-mate, but it’s thought Billy McConnell, Luke Stapleford and Richard Cooper are in the frame.

After a stellar 2018 campaign, Danny Buchan will remain with the FS-3 Racing team while Superstock 600 champion Ryan Vickers replaces Moto2-bound Jake Dixon in the RAF Regular and Reserves squad.

After a successful tenure with the MotoRapido team towards the end of last season, Tommy Bridewell will continue with the Hampshire squad for 2019 as they become Oxford Racing Ducati with support from Oxford Products.

Joe Francis will again line-up with PR Racing BMW and Fraser Rogers remains with the Gearlink Kawasaki squad.

Recent rumours had linked WSB rider Loris Baz to a BSB move, but MCN understands this is now unlikely, while World Champion Danny Kent is still looking for a place on the grid.


Be Wiser Ducati: Scott Redding & Josh Brookes

RAF Kawasaki: Ryan Vickers

Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki: Glenn Irwin & Ben Currie

OMG Racing Suzuki: Luke Mossey & Josh Elliott

Honda Racing: Andrew Irwin & Xavi Fores

McAMS Yamaha: Jason O’Halloran & Tarran Mackenzie

Buildbase Suzuki: Bradley Ray & ????

Oxford Racing Ducati: Tommy Bridewell

PR Racing BMW: Joe Francis

FS-3 Racing: Danny Buchan

TAG Racing: Dan Linfoot & Shaun Winfield

Smiths BMW: Peter Hickman & James Ellison

Tyco BMW: Christian Iddon & Keith Farmer

EHA Racing: David Allingham 

Raceways Yamaha: Matt Truelove

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing