BSB: Reigning champion Jack Kennedy joins Mar-Train Yamaha for 2022 Supersport campaign

Jack Kennedy has signed with the Mar-Train Yamaha team for the 2022 Quattro Group British Supersport season.

Kennedy clinched his third Supersport crown this year upon his return to the class, following a single campaign on a Superbike in 2020, onboard the new Kawasaki 636. The three-time champion won seven races and secured a total of 17 podiums to beat nearest rival Ben Currie by 38 points.

Related articles from MCN

The Dubliner will now switch back to Yamaha machinery, renewing his relationship with the Northern Ireland based Mar-Train team he last rode for in 2012. That year, Kennedy lost out to Glenn Richards after breaking down in the final race of the season.

“I want to make it four championships now,” Kennedy said. “I want to retain my title and joining Mar-Train gives me the best possible opportunity of doing that. No one gets tired of winning. I never get complacent, and I am always trying to improve otherwise your rivals will get the upper hand when you least expect it.”

Mar-Train Yamaha won the Supersport title with Stuart Easton in 2013, before providing financial support this season for Korie McGreevy. The team have previously worked the likes of Glenn Irwin, Alastair Seeley and Dean Harrison.

However, Team Principal, Tim Martin has assembled a new squad for the 2022 campaign with Andy Jamison recruited as Kennedy’s crew chief and engine builder, Kev Stephenson, tuning the team’s R6 Yamahas.

“We are moving back into the championship, running our own team, with our own personnel,” Martin added. “We want to give ourselves the best shot at winning races and a championship. Although we spoke to a few riders, Jack was always our number one target. We all know what to expect now and it is a bonus to have an Irish rider in the team.”

Kennedy is targeting a fourth Supersport crown in five seasons in 2022, and will be eager to add to his tally of 49 victories in the 600cc series – which is more than any other rider in the championship’s history.