BSB: Glenn Irwin crowned Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

1 of 1

Glenn Irwin has been named Irish Motorcyclist of the Year of the second consecutive year following his efforts in the Bennetts British Superbike Championship and North West 200 in 2023.

Irwin was presented with the Joey Dunlop trophy on Friday night (January 19) at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, given the award after finishing as runner-up to Tommy Bridewell in BSB by only half-a-point.

Other nominees in the Motorcyclist of the Year category included Jonathan Rea, Michael Dunlop, Richard Kerr, Jason Lynn, Alastair Seeley and Jordan Scott.

Irwin won more BSB races than anybody else in 2023 (10), whilst he also continued to dominate the NW200 with a Superbike double. Those two victories were Irwin’s eighth consecutive successes at the North Irish road racing event.

Alongside the Motorcyclist of the Year Award, Irwin was also handed the trophy in the Short Circuit Rider of the Year category.

Elsewhere, Eugene Laverty was inducted into the Hall of Fame. Laverty is a two-time World Supersport Championship runner-up, and also finished second overall in the World Superbike Championship in 2013.

Laverty joins Joey Dunlop, Robert Dunlop, Brian Reid, Ray McCullough, Stanley Woods and Ralph Bryans in the Hall of Fame.

Michael Dunlop was victorious in the Team of the Year and Greenlight Television King of the Roads categories, whilst Casey O’Gorman was named Kawasaki Young Rider of the Year.

Richard Kerr, crowned British Superstock Champion following Dan Linfoot’s disqualification from the final round of the season at Brands Hatch, won the Belfast Chauffeur Hire Outstanding Achievement award.