Rossi wins in Oz

Valentino Rossi continued his amazing season with victory in Australia. He finished at the head of five Hondas, sharing the podium with Alex Barros and Tohru Ukawa. Daijiro Katoh and Jurgen van den Goorbergh took fourth and fifth.

Max Biaggi was the leading non-Honda, ahead of Nobuastsu Aoki who finished seventh on the Proton KR. Eighth was Olivier Jacque, ninth Kenny Roberts Jr and tenth Jeremy McWilliams, despite his amazing qualifying performance.

The 250cc race was won by Marco Melandri, from Fonsi Nieto and Sebastien Porto. Leon Haslam finished eighteenth, with Jay Vincent failing to finish.

The 125cc race was won by Manuel Poggiali, taking the win from Lucio Cecchinello and Pablo Nieto. Chaz Davies finished 22nd.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff