Hayden wins U.S GP

1 of 1

Nicky Hayden rode a perfect race to take his maiden MotoGP win at the American Grand Prix at Laguna Seca today, Sunday July 10, 2005.

The factory Honda rider qualified on pole and dominated almost every practice session before setting about the 32 lap race in the same fashion by leading from the start. Troy Bayliss and Valentino Rossi looked to be the only riders in the same league, but neither could do anything as the fromer AMA Superbike rider used his track knowledge to pull away.

Marco Melandri ended a dismal weekend on lap one as he crashed in a tangle with Alex Barros at the final corner. The most memorable moment of the race came two laps later as Colin Edwards was involved in a four-man late braking contest, taking third from Max Biaggi and Troy Bayliss as they entered the Corkscrew corner.

Carlos Checa fell out of the race on lap eight as he lowsided his Ducati in turn two, and lap nine saw Max Biaggi slip past Sete Gibernau to take fourth place. Meanwhile Edwards was closing on team-mate Rossi, and again managed a fantastic outbraking manoeuvre into the Corkscrew to take second. A slight mistake by Rossi then allowed the American some breathing space.

From lap 16 onwards, the positions remained static, with Edwards unable to close on Hayden, despite a softer rear tyre. And Rossi seemed pleased to settle for third place with his nearest championship rival already out of contention. Only Makoto Tamada was able to gain a place in the closing stages as he passed Anglo-American favoutire John Hopkins to take seventh.

It was an emotional win for Hayden in front of a sellout 57,932 crowd, as he stopped to give a pillion ride to his father on the victory lap. Colin Edwards was able to hold second, despite a late charge by Rossi, making it an American one-two at Lagunas first GP in fourteen years.

Laguna Seca MotoGP results:

1. Nicky Hayden.

2. Colin Edwards.

3. Valentino Rossi.

4. Max Biaggi.

5. Sete Gibernau.

6. Troy Bayliss.

7. Makoto Tamada.

8. John Hopkins.

9. Shinya Nakano.

10. loris capirossi.

11. Ruben Xaus.

12. Alex Hofmann.

13. Toni Elias.

14. Kenny Roberts.

15. Shane Byrne.

16. James Ellison.

17. Franco Battaini.

DNF: Roberto Rolfo, Carlos Checa, MarcoMelandri, Alex Barros.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff