Melandri wins in Turkey

1 of 1

Marco Melandri has won the Turkish GP in a race which fully lived up to the drama of the 125 and 250cc classes.

Pole sitter Chris Vermeulen led from the start, but his joy only lasted three corners before Sete Gibernau was able to pass. But Gibernau was to fade later in the race, as did early front runner John Hopkins, as Vermeulen eventually settled for seventh. Both Hopkins and Britain’s James Ellison were forced to change rear tires during the race.

The battle at the front was between four bikes for much of the race. Casey Stoner was fighting to become the joint-youngest GP winner, but Marco Melandri, Dani Pedrosa and Nicky Hayden were fighting hard to stop him. Meanwhile Valentino Rossi was making up places from a a disapointing grid position and early laps.

Hayden had dropped away from the leading trio in the later stages, but inherited third place on the podium as Dani Pedrosa lost the front of his Repsol Honda on the first corner of the final lap. Casey Stoner also lost out as Marco Melandri was able to take the lead at the last real opportunity to overtake. To see the full list of results, click here.

You could win with MCN Fantasy Road Racing. Click here.

Looking to buy a bike? Click here.

Browse over 1700 product reviews. Click here.

Hiroshi Aoyama has taken his first victory on the KTM 250cc GP bike in one of the most dramatic GP races in history, including a miracle save for Alex de Angelis as he collided with the Fortuna Honda at one the fastest parts of the track on the final lap.

The entire race was packed full of action as title leader Jorge Lorenzo was taken out in the first turn by Shuhei Aoyama. From then on it was a six bike battle with Aoyama, De Angelis, Barbera, Locatelli, Takahashi and Dovizioso. Places constantly changed throughout the race, and several times during each lap.

But it was Aoyama who eventually took the win following the clash between De Angelis and Barbera, which saw De Angelis perform probably the greatest save of a crashing bike, defying the laws of physics to save himself froma major crash and eventually finish, albeit well down the field. Second went to Hector Barbera with third for Dovizioso. To see the full list of results, click here.

The 125cc GP will also be remembered for action in the early stages, and for being the first time the podium was filled with three riders from the Master-MVA Aspar team, as Hector Faubel won from fellow Spaniards Alvaro Bautista and Sergio Gadea. Britain’s Bradley Smith failed to finish, along with Mika Kallio, Mike Di Meglio and Michele Pirro. To see the full list of results, click here.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff