Hayden wins GP title

1 of 1

In one of the most memorable races in Moto GP history, Nicky Hayden has clinched the World championship.

From the start Troy Bayliss took the lead, which he held to the flag to win the final race of the 990cc Moto GP era, riding as a replacement for the Valencia round only on the back of winning the WSB title for Ducati.

Valentino Rossi finished the race in 13th after crashing early on trying to close a gap to Casey Stoner in front.

Nicky Hayden took a controlled third position. After battling with Loris Capirossi, Hayden settled for the bottom step of the podium to guarantee the World title leaving Capirossi to chase down Bayliss.

Behind the top three was a continuous battle between Pedrosa, Melandri and Stoner, ending with Stoner tumbling with only a few laps to go off the LCR Honda.

Nicky Hayden took the title by 5 points from Valentino Rossi in second.

Race Classification

1. Bayliss

2. Capirossi

3. Hayden

4. Pedrosa

5. Melandri

6. Elias

7. Nakano

8. Roberts

9. Edwards

10. Checa

11. Hopkins

12. Tamada

13. Rossi

14. Ellison

15. McCoy

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff