Australian MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo extends series lead with 250cc GP win

Jorge Lorenzo has increased his lead in the 250cc GP world championship with victory at the Australian round.

The Majorcan Fortuna Aprilia rider led from start to finish to take maximum points, finished 19 seconds clear of second placed Alvaro Bautista. Andrea Dovizioso fought hard, but finished third to keep his title hopes alive, just ahead of Hiroshi Aoyama and Thomas Luthi.

Jorge Lorenzo now leads the championship by 45 points from Andrea Dovizioso.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty finished in 16th place on the LCR Honda. Retirements included Hector Barbera, Alex Baldolini and Mika Kallio.

Australlian 250cc Grand Prix:

1. Jorge Lorenzo.

2. Alvaro Bautista.

3. Andrea Dovizioso.

4. Hiroshi Aoyama.

5. Thomas Luthi.

6. Julian Simon.

7. Marco Simoncelli.

8. Shuhei Aoyama.

9. Alex de Angelis.

10. Yuki Takahashi.

16. Eugene Laverty


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk