Assen MotoGP: Bradley Smith second in opening qualifying session

Published: 26 June 2008

Britain’s Bradley Smith has put himself in provisional second place on the grid for Saturday’s MotoGP in Assen.

The Polaris World Aprilia rider knocked almost 0.3secs off his best time from this morning’s free practice as he makes good progress on his way to recovery after breaking his foot in Catalunya just under three weeks ago.

Italy’s Simone Corsi is the provisional pole man and will be wanting to hold on to his advantage in tomorrow’s second qualifying session with his best lap recorded at 1:45.533. He initially shot to the top of the timesheets at the half way point with a 1:45.961 and then continued to improve on his times.

Rounding off the front row are Joan Olive and fellow Derbi and championship leader rider Mike Di Meglio

Scott Redding put in another sterling performance on the back of his first victory at Donington Park last weekend and is on the second row after the first qualifying session with his best lap recorded at 1:46.028 which was good enough for sixth place.

The Gloucestershire teenager knocked over a second and a half off his best time this morning, despite taking a trip to the gravel trap.

Assen MotoGP 125 first qualifying practice results:

1 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'45.533
2 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 1'45.873
3 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'45.896
4 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'45.897
5 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'45.935
6 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'46.028
7 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'46.105
8 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'46.139
9 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'46.318
10 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'46.329
11 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Red Bull KTM 125 KTM 1'46.396
12 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'46.444
13 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'46.532
14 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 1'46.554
15 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 1'46.700
16 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'46.760
17 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 1'46.898
18 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'46.935
19 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'46.956
20 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 1'47.019
21 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'47.077
22 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'47.106
23 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 1'47.243 3 7 1.710 0.137 199.0
24 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'47.354
25 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'47.458
26 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 1'47.502
27 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'47.617
28 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'47.850
29 Joey LITJENS NED Abbink Bos Racing SEEL 1'47.935
30 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'48.027
31 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'48.777
32 Michael VAN DER MARK NED Dutch Racing Team HONDA 1'49.173
33 Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'49.207
34 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 1'50.275
35 Ernst DUBBINK NED RV Racing Team HONDA 1'50.324
36 Jasper IWEMA NED Abbink Bos Racing SEEL 1'50.574
37 Jerry VAN DE BUNT NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'51.560
38 Robert GULL SWE Ajo Motorsports Jnr. Project DERBI 1'52.420