Catalunya MotoGP: Marco Simoncelli takes 250GP win

Published: 08 June 2008

Metis Gilrera rider Marco Simoncelli has taken victory in the 250GP after Alvaro Bautista ran wide on the penultimate lap.

Marco Simoncelli is now second in the championship behind Mika Kallio.

Aspar Aprilia rider Alvaro Bautista led for the majority of the lap, occasionally swapping places with Simoncelli in second but eventually made a mistake on the penultimate lap to let Simoncelli through and take the lead at Bautista's home GP.

Britain's Eugene Laverty finished in 16th after battling with former 250GP world champion Manuel Poggiali, who eventually finished 14th.

250 championship leader Mika Kallio was forced to retire on lap 19 with a problem with his Red Bull KTM. Imre Toth also retired to the pits on his Team Toth Aprilia.

Hector Barbera finished third, but he was over 10 seconds behind the leading duo of Simoncelli and Bautista.

Polaris World Aprilia rider Mattia Pasini finished sixth and is third in the championship.

1  M. SIMONCELLI  ITA  Metis Gilera  41'01.859
2  A. BAUTISTA  SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team  + 0.039
3  H. BARBERA  SPA  Team Toth Aprilia  + 11.291
4  A. DEBON  SPA  Lotus Aprilia  + 21.373
5  T. LUTHI  SWI  Emmi - Caffe Latte  + 26.621
6  M. PASINI  ITA  Polaris World  + 26.720
7  H. AOYAMA  JPN  Red Bull KTM 250  + 35.818
8  H. FAUBEL  SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team  + 36.321
9  J. SIMON  SPA  Repsol KTM 250cc  + 36.964
10  L. PESEK  CZE  Auto Kelly - CP  + 41.237
11  R. WILAIROT  THA  Thai Honda PTT SAG  + 52.391
12  Y. TAKAHASHI  JPN  JiR Team Scot 250  + 56.656
13  A. BALDOLINI  ITA  Matteoni Racing  + 59.282
14  M. POGGIALI  RSM  Campetella Racing  + 1'02.503
15  F. LAI  ITA  Campetella Racing  + 1'02.656
16  E. LAVERTY  IRL  Blusens Aprilia  + 1'07.418
17  R. GOMEZ  SPA  Blusens Aprilia  1 Lap
18  D. PRADITA  INA  Yamaha Pertamina Indonesia