Jerez MotoGP: Alvaro Bautista takes pole for 250GP

1 of 1

Alvaro Bautista has taken pole position for his home 250GP in Jerez after vying with Finland’s Mika Kallio at the top of the timesheets.

The Aprilia man took control of the second qualifying session with around 10 minutes to go and follows Jorge Lorenzo's impressive home form in Jerez.

Mika Kallio looked to have grabbed the top spot until Bautista put in a charge 10 minutes from the end of the session.

But in the end it was Kallio’s provisional pole winning time from yesterday that saw him secure second on the grid for tomorrow’s race as he failed to improve on that time today.

There was concern at the end of the session as Alex Debon as he came off his Lotus Aprilia and lay by the safety barriers.

If fit for tomorrow’s race, he will start from third place on the grid.

Rounding off the front row of the grid is Thomas Luthi who managed a best lap of 1:43.596 today to see him claim fourth on his Café Latte Aprilia.

Eugene Laverty came off his Blusens Aprilia when he high-sided less tan 20 minutes in to the session.

Laverty will start the race from 20th place with his best lap of 1:46.034 the quickest form the two sessions. His final lap of the seven he managed in qualifying two before crashing was the fastest at 1:46.503.

Jerez MotoGP 250 qualifying two results:

1 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team APRILIA 1'43.071
2 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 1'43.198
3 Alex DEBON SPA Lotus Aprilia APRILIA 1'43.286
4 Thomas LUTHI SWI Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'43.596
5 Julian SIMON SPA Repsol KTM 250cc KTM 1'43.629
6 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 1'43.640
7 Hector BARBERA SPA Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 1'43.748
8 Roberto LOCATELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 1'43.823
9 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 1'43.921
10 Mattia PASINI ITA Polaris World APRILIA 1'43.935
11 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN JiR Team Scot 250 HONDA 1'44.022
12 Fabrizio LAI ITA Campetella Racing GILERA 1'44.032
13 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team APRILIA 1'44.166
14 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing APRILIA 1'44.249
15 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Lotus Aprilia APRILIA 1'44.335
16 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'44.754
17 Lukas PESEK CZE Auto Kelly - CP APRILIA 1'44.818
18 Manuel POGGIALI RSM Campetella Racing GILERA 1'44.854
19 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT SAG HONDA 1'45.753
20 Eugene LAVERTY IRL Blusens Aprilia APRILIA 1'46.503
21 Manuel HERNANDEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia APRILIA 1'46.835
22 Imre TOTH HUN Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 1'47.005
23 Doni Tata PRADITA INA Yamaha Pertamina Indonesia YAMAHA 1'47.989

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell