Italian MotoGP: Scott Redding in provisional second for 125GP

1 of 1

Britain’s Scott Redding has put in a brilliant first qualifying session in torrential rain to put himself in provisional second on the grid for Sunday’s 125GP in Mugello.

The 15-year-old shot to the top of the timesheets with 12 minutes left of the half-hour session with a lap of 2:21.521. He was knocked off the lead spot by Mike DeMeglio on the Derbi before the Frenchman and home rider Andrea Iannone were vying for the top spot.

But Redding remained near the top and on his final flying lap put in a 2:19.037 to slot into place.

Sitting on provisional pole is this morning’s fastest man Pol Espargaro who posted a 2:19.063 dollowed by a 2:18.932 in the dying minutes of the session. Derbi rider Mike Di Meglio and Raffaele De Rosa on the KTM currently occupy for remaining front row spots.

Polaris World’s Bradley Smith was the next highest Brit and sits in a provisional sixth place at the moment after his best lap of 2:19.617 while Danny Webb kept all three Brits in the top ten with his best lap coming in at 2:20.223.

The Degraaf Grand Prix Aprilia rider has been ninth until the last flying laps saw him go down a place.

Most riders were two to three seconds slower than in this morning’s free practice due to the treacherous conditions.

Italian MotoGP 125 qualifying one results:

1 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 2’18.932
2 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 2’19.037
3 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 2’19.238
4 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 2’19.259
5 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi – Caffe Latte APRILIA 2’19.371
6 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 2’19.617
7 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2’19.698
8 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 2’19.746
9 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 2’20.002
10 Danny WEBB GBR Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2’20.223
11 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 2’20.229
12 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 2’20.276
13 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Red Bull KTM 125 KTM 2’20.479
14 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 2’20.972
16 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 2’21.227
17 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 2’21.359
18 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 2’21.500
19 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2’21.852
20 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2’21.956
21 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 2’21.995
22 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2’22.106
23 Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2’22.462
24 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 2’22.601
25 Riccardo MORETTI ITA CRP Racing HONDA 2’22.730
26 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2’23.184
27 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2’23.928
28 Ferruccio LAMBORGHINI ITA Junior GP Racing Dream APRILIA 2’24.145
29 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2’24.183
30 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 2’24.288
31 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 2’24.988
32 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 2’25.149
33 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 2’25.669
34 Gabriele FERRO ITA Metasystem RS HONDA 2’25.715
35 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 2’25.753
36 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 2’25.898
37 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 2’26.199
38 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 2’26.721

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell