Donington GP125 stats: Facts and figures

Published: 23 July 2009

Julian Simon’s only Grand Prix win prior to this year was the 125cc race at the Donington circuit in 2005 riding for KTM in very wet conditions.

Sergio Gadea has finished fourth for the last two years at Donington.  Gadea has finished on the podium at the last three races - the first rider to have three successive podiums in the 125cc class this year.

Bradley Smith has not had a great deal of success at his home GP – his best result is seventh in 2007.  His crash in Germany resulted in him losing the record of being the only rider in the 125cc class to have scored points at every race this year.

Andrea Iannone’s 15th place finish two years ago is his only point scoring ride at Donington.  Last year he crashed out of the race on lap 20 whilst leading.

Nicolas Terol’s only point scoring ride at Donington is 9th place in 2006.

Last year at Donington Scott Redding became the youngest ever Grand prix winner and the first British rider to win a 125cc GP since 1973.

Marc Marquez was third at Donington last year to become the second youngest Grand Prix podium finisher of all time.