Scott Redding ponders tough Moto2 field

1 of 1

Scott Redding will face five riders who raced in MotoGP last season and three world 125GP champions in what promises to be a fiercely fought inaugural Moto2 600cc series in 2010.

Toni Elias, Alex de Angelis, Gabor Talmacsi, Yuki Takahashi and Niccolo Canepa all faced Valentino Rossi last season but will form part of a grid of 39 riders in the 250cc two-stroke replacement class Redding, who is the youngest rider in history to win a Grand Prix, will make his debut for the Belgian Marc VDS team in Catalunya next month.

On the entry list released today, the Gloucestershire rider will continue to use his favoured number 45.

He said: “When you look at the entry list there is a lot of talent and guys like Elias who have won in MotoGP. So I’m under no illusions it will be tough.”

The majority of the field will race on bikes supplied by Swiss and Japanese engineering specialists Suter and Moriwaki.

2010 Moto2 entry list
2  Gabor Talmacsi HUN Speed up Aprilia   Speed Up
4 Stefan Bradl GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing  Suter
5 Joan Olive SPA Jack&Jones by A.Banderas  Promoharris
6Alex Debon SPA Red Bull Ajo Motorsport   FTR
7 Axel Pons SPA Pons Racing    Pons Kalex
9 Kenny Noyes USA Jack&Jones by A.Banderas  Promoharris
10 Fonsi Nieto SPA G22 Holidaygym   Moriwaki
12 Thomas Luthi SUI Interwetten Moriwaki Racing Moriwaki
14 Ratthapark Wilairot THA Honda SAG   Suter
15 Alex de Angelis SMR Scot Racing Team   Scot
16 Jules Cluzel FRA Forward Racing   Suter
17 Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing  RSV
24 Toni Elias SPA Gresini Racing Moto2   Moriwaki
25 Alex Baldolini ITA Caretta Technology Race Dept  I.C.P
29 Andrea Iannone ITA Speed up Aprilia   Speed Up
35 Raffaele De Rosa ITA Tech 3 Racing   Tech 3
37 Fabricio Perren ARG Kino Racing   Kino
39 Robertino Pietri VEN Italtrans S.T.R   Suter
40 Sergio Gadea SPA Pons Racing    Pons Kalex
41 Arne Tode GER Racing Team Germany   Suter
44 Roberto Rolfo ITA Italtrans S.T.R   Suter
45 Scott Redding GB Marc VDS Racing Team  Suter
48 Shoya Tomizawa JPN Technomag-CIP   Suter
52 Lukas Pesek CZE Matteoni C.P. Racing   Moriwaki
53 Valentin Debise FRA WTR San Marino Team  ADV
55 Hector Faubel SPA Honda SAG    Suter
56 Vladimir Leonov RUS Vector Kiefer Racing  Suter
59 Niccolo Canepa ITA Scot Racing Team   Scot
60 Julian Simon SPA Mapfre Aspar Team   RSV
61 Vladimir Ivanov RUS Gresini Racing Moto2  Moriwaki
63 Mike di Meglio FRA Mapfre Aspar Team  RSV
71 Claudio Corti ITA Forward Racing   Suter
72 Yuki Takahashi JPN Tech 3 Racing   Tech 3
75 Mattia Pasini ITA JiR Moto2    TSR
76 Bernat Martinez SPA Blusens BQR   BQR-Moto2
77 Dominique Aegerter SUI Technomag-CIP  Suter
88 Yannick Guerra SPA G22 Holidaygym   Moriwaki
95 Mashel Al Naimi QAT Blusens BQR   BQR Moto2
27 Vincent Lonbois BEL Marc VDS Racing Team  Suter
TBA. Anthony West AUS MZ Racing Team  MZ

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt