Motegi MotoGP: 2011 MotoGP calendar unveiled

1 of 1

The 2011 British Grand Prix at Silverstone will take place on June 12 after next season’s MotoGP calendar was unveiled in Japan today.

The Silverstone race will be round seven of the campaign and falls in between the Catalunya (June 5) race and Assen (June 25).

Valentino Rossi’s Ducati debut, Casey Stoner’s first appearance for Honda and Cal Crutchlow’s premier class bow will come on March 20 in Qatar.

The schedule will again feature 18 races with no new tracks on the calendar. The Motorland Aragon circuit, which stepped into replace the Balatonring in Hungary, remains on the schedule and will take place on September 18.

Valencia will once again be the last race on November 6, though Estoril has been moved from the penultimate round to the fourth race.

The Portugal round will be held on May 1 and immediately follows the Japanese race at the Twin Ring Motegi on April 24.

Full 2011 calendar

20th March – Qatar* – Losail
3rd April – Spain – Jerez
24th April – Japan – Motegi
1st May – Portugal – Estoril
15th May – France – Le Mans
5th June – Catalunya – Catalunya
12th June – Great Britain – Silverstone
25th June – Netherlands** – Assen
3rd July – Italy – Mugello
17th July – Germany – Sachsenring
24th July – United States*** – Laguna Seca
14th August – Czech Republic – Brno
28th August – Indianapolis – Indianapolis
4th September – San Marino & Riviera di Rimini – Misano
18th September – Aragon – Motorland
16th October – Australia – Phillip Island
23rd October – Malaysia – Sepang
6th November – Valencia – Ricardo Tormo Valencia

* Night Race
** Saturday Race
*** Only MotoGP class

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt