Ad closing in seconds....

Estoril MotoGP: Stefan Bradl snatches Moto2 pole

Published: 30 April 2011

German rider Stefan Bradl (Viessman Kiefer Racing) snatched his third pole in a row in the last lap of qualifying at Estoril from Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) who was 0.163s behind. Spaniard Julian Simon (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2) took third to qualify on the front row for the first time this season.

Repsol Suter rider and reigning 125GP champion Marc Marquez qualified in fourth ahead of Technomag-CIP rider Dominique Aegerter and Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2), who both crashed during the qualifying session.

Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) was the fastest British rider and will be starting from thirteenth on the grid. Bradley Smith took fifteenth place and Kev Coughlan will be starting in thirty-seventh place.

1 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing 1m 41.591s 
2 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 1m 41.754s
3 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1m 41.905s
4 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol 1m 42.073s
5 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP 1m 42.143s
6 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 1m 42.219s
7 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 1m 42.259s
8 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP 1m 42.307s
9 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing 1m 42.400s
10 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up 1m 42.456s 
11 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons 1m 42.493s 
12 Alex BALDOLINI ITA NGM Forward Racing 1m 42.546s
13 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team 1m 42.563s
14 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master 1m 42.591s
15 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing 1m 42.743s
16 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons 1m 42.746s 
17 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project 1m 42.844s
18 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Desguaces La Torre G22 1m 42.953s
19 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project 1m 42.996s
20 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team 1m 43.080s
21 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B 1m 43.120s
22 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team 1m 43.140s
23 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX 1m 43.189s 
24 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG 1m 43.286s
25 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing 1m 43.346s
26 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing 1m 43.366s
27 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX 1m 43.399s
28 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 1m 43.472s
29 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team 1m 43.660s
30 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team 1m 43.674s
31 Javier FORES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1m 43.710s
32 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up 1m 44.010s 
33 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX 1m 44.090s 
34 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team 1m 44.355s 
35 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team 1m 44.835s
36 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team 1m 45.100s 
37 Kev COGHLAN GBR Aeroport de Castello 1m 45.380s
38 Steven ODENDAAL RSA MS Racing 1m 46.555s

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)