Mugello MotoGP: Márquez takes Moto2 victory

Published: 03 July 2011

Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) took his third victory of the season at Mugello, after winning a hard fought race-long battle with Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing).

Bradl managed a strong start to move up from his qualifying position of seventh to third, before dropping to fifth. Within three laps Bradl had climbed to third, behind Márquez and Smith, whilst De Angelis was hanging on to fourth position.

In lap seven Bradl took the lead, with a run out of the slipstream into turn one, before Márquez reclaimed first place. With ten laps remaining De Angelis had moved past Smith into third, prior to Iannone making a charge for podium contention and passing both to take third. Márquez ran wide in lap sixteen, allowing Bradl to take the lead, whilst Iannone also ran wide leaving room for Smith to move into third.

Smith briefly took the lead at the end of lap nineteen before Márquez re-passed him and the British rider came under pressure from Bradl, who moved through into second, where he remained on the final lap. Smith took his third successive podium finish in third, whilst Bradl extends his championship lead to fifty-two points.

Alex DeAngelis (JIR Moto2) battled tyre troubles to finish in fourth place, ahead of Italian Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) in fifth who was able to improve on his qualifying position of fourteenth. Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) also both improved greatly on their qualifying positions, finishing in sixth and seventh respectively despite Luthi having qualified in twenty-fourth and Corsi in twenty-third.

Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) took twenty-seventh place at the Italian circuit.

1 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol 40'02.941
2 Stefan BRADL  GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing  +0.071
3 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing +0.419
4 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 +2.091
5 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master +4.595
6 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 +13.021
7 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project +13.092
8 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team +13.409
9 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 +14.139
10 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP  +14.419
11 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP  +15.072
12 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B +17.996
13 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing +18.573
14 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2  +19.720
15 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing +20.357
16 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX  +22.208
17 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team  +22.420
18 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up  +24.297
19 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 +28.679
20 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project +28.876
21 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team +30.778
22 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team +33.084
23 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team +34.568
24 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing +36.000
25 Carmelo MORALES SPA Desguaces La Torre G22 +36.194
26 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team +36.195
27 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team  +46.731
28 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up +49.054
29 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX +50.101
30 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team +1'08.557
31 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team 1 Lap