Cal Crutchlow wins MCN Man of the Year

1 of 1

2016 double MotoGP race winner Cal Crutchlow has fended off stiff opposition from Isle of Man TT winner Ian Hutchinson and double World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea to win the fan’s vote for MCN Man of the Year.

Crutchlow won the popular vote by a big margin from rivals Rea, Hutchinson, five-time BSB champion Shane Byrne and triple MotoGP world champion Marc Marque to lift the prestigious honour awarded annually since 1958.


Joining such hallowed names as John Surtees and Mike Hailwood, the LCR Honda racer admitted that it was a huge honour both to win the award and to beat such stiff competition.

“Thank you to everyone who voted for me, because it’s a fantastic honour to say that I’ve won when I haven’t even been nominated for it before! I’m out to get it again this year, and hopefully I’m able to live up to 2016 with results good enough to put me into the running for it again!”

Crutchlow received his award this afternoon at Phillip Island after finishing the opening day of the second pre-season test of the 2017 season fifth overall.


Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN’s Bikes For Sale App.

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer