MotoGP: 2019 provisional calendar announced

1 of 1

MotoGP has released a provisional version of their 2019 calendar, with the 19-round championship featuring no major surprises as it once again kicks off in Qatar on the 10th March and finishes the year in Valencia on November 17th. With no new tracks joining the line-up this season after both Mexico and Finland were forced to delay their entry to the series, it sees the same 19 circuits as will host races in 2018.

The biggest change comes in the shape of an increased number of back-to-back races, with Misano and Aragon and Assen and Sachsenring joining Brno and Red Bull Ring in pairing up. This comes after criticism from riders and teams alike about the intense nature of the current calendar, with only two back-to-back European races shortening the summer break to only two weeks and essentially giving a race every other weekend for months.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer