Ad closing in seconds....

MotoE: Smith and Gibernau headline inaugural championship

Published: 15 November 2018

Updated: 15 November 2018

 There will be ten different nationalities lining up in the inaugural MotoE World Cup when the new series gets underway at five round of the MotoGP world championship in 2019, with riders from Australia to Brazil represented.

Four former MotoGP riders, two former Moto3 world champions in the shape of Nico Terol and Mike di Meglio, two Endurance World Champions in Josh Hook and Kenny Foray, and a former European Moto2 Champion, Eric Granado from Brazil will all line up on the grid.

However the star names are likely to be Brit Bradley Smith, joining the Sepang team alongside his Aprilia MotoGP wildcards, and former double MotoGP runner-up Sete Gibernau, coming out of retirement to take part in the series’ first year.

The series will race at five rounds next year and see six races, at Jerez, Le Mans, Sachsenring, Red Bull Ring and a double header with a Saturday race at Misano.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)