Moto2: Sam Lowes wins his third consecutive race at the Teruel GP

Sam Lowes dominated once again in Moto2
Sam Lowes dominated once again in Moto2

Sam Lowes completed a hat-trick of race wins in as many weeks after dominating the Moto2 race at Aragon.

The Brit, who’s controlled the entire weekend, led the race from start to finish and was unchallenged throughout. Lowes would eventually cross the line with a 8.425s advantage over Fabio Di Giannantonio and now leads the championship with 178 points.

The story so far

Lowes has a seven-point advantage over Enea Bastianini after winning the last three races – the first British rider to win three consecutive races in the intermediate class since Phil Read in 1971. 

Di Giannantonio finished in a lonely second place, with Bastianini completing the podium on the Italtrans Racing Team Kalex. 

Remy Gardner was fourth and finished clear of an exciting battle for fifth between Jorge Navarro (fifth), Jorge Martin (sixth), Jake Dixon (seventh) and Augusto Fernandez (eighth). The quartet raced hard and swapped positions on multiple occasions. The Tennor American Racing duo of Marcos Ramirez and Joe Roberts completed the top 10. 

Luca Marini battled back to 11th after once again falling out of the points at one stage. The one-time series leader had failed to score in the previous two races and now finds himself 23 points behind Lowes. 

Kasma Daniel lost the front at the first corner and took Thomas Luthi out of the race with him. Marco Bezzecchi crashed out at Aragon for the second week running, whilst Hector Garzo hit the deck at turn eight. Lorenzo Baldassarri, Edgar Pons and Stefano Manzi all crashed out of the race.

Moto2 Teruel GP - Race Result

MotoGP: Franco Morbidelli dominates at Aragon to take his second win of 2020

First published: 25 October 2020 by Josh Close

Franco Morbidelli wins Aragon

Franco Morbidelli controlled the MotoGP race at Aragon to secure his second victory of the 2020 season. 

The Petronas Yamaha rider, who clinched his maiden MotoGP win at Misano, was promoted to the lead on the opening lap when Takaaki Nakagami crashed out of the race. From that moment onwards Morbidelli, who switched to the medium rear tyre in the closing minutes on the grid, was untouchable, despite the best efforts of last week’s Aragon winner Alex Rins. 

Rins, who was on soft tyres, ended the race 2.205s behind the race winner. Championship leader Joan Mir finished third to take his sixth rostrum of the season. The Spaniard, who started the race from 12th, now has a 14-point advantage over Fabio Quartararo, who could only manage eighth today, in the standings. After today’s win, Morbidelli is 25 points behind Mir in fourth spot. 

Pol Espargaro enjoyed a positive race on the Red Bull KTM to finish in fourth, ahead of Johann Zarco and Miguel Oliveira. Zarco and Oliveira swapped positions several times in the closing stages of the race. Zarco was the only Ducati rider to mount a serious challenge this weekend. 

Maverick Vinales was sixth on the Monster Energy Yamaha and now finds himself 19 points behind Mir in the title battle. Iker Lecuona and Danilo Petrucci completed the top 10 behind Quartararo (eighth).

Cal Crutchlow was 11th, whilst Andrea Dovizioso’s difficult weekend continued in 13th. The Ducati rider is now 28 points adrift of Mir in the standings. Bradley Smith picked up a point in 15th.

Alex Marquez crashed out of fourth spot at turn two on lap 14. Like last weekend, the Repsol Honda rider was chasing down the leaders and appeared to have the pace to challenge for the win. 

Brad Binder and Jack Miller collided at turn two on the opening lap. Replays showed that Binder ran into the back of the Pramac Ducati rider. Aleix Espargaro retired from ninth spot with a bike problem, whilst Francesco Bagnaia also failed to finish the race. 

MotoGP Teruel GP - Race Result

Moto3: Jaume Masia does the double at Aragon to secure Honda’s 800th Grand Prix victory

First published: 25 October 2020 by Josh Close

Jaume Masia Moto3 Aragon

Jaume Masia won once again in Moto3 at Aragon to secure Honda’s 800th Grand Prix victory across all classes.

Just one week after becoming Honda’s 100th race winner at the same circuit, the Leopard Racing rider came out on top in a battle with championship leader Albert Arenas.

Masia took the lead heading into turn one on the final lap and opened up a big enough gap to avoid the chaos behind him. The 19-year-old’s second victory of the season comes in his 50th Moto3 race start.

Kaito Toba finished second after putting himself into contention with a tough move on John McPhee on the penultimate lap. Ayumi Sasaki secured his first-ever GP podium in third spot after following Toba through on lap 18. The 27-year-old’s best result in Moto3 before today’s race was fifth. 

Arenas crossed the line in fourth spot after being pushed out wide through the long, sweeping final turn. He won’t be too disappointed though as he’s extended his championship lead over Ai Ogura to 19 points. 

Celestino Vietti finished fifth ahead of McPhee and Deniz Oncu. McPhee was beaten up a little on the final lap after falling behind Toba.

Darryn Binder was eighth ahead of Ogura, with Tony Arbolino completing the top 10 on his return to action. Arbolino has missed the first race at Aragon after having to self-isolate for 10 days due to coming into contact with somebody who tested positive for Covid-19 on his plane home from Le Mans.

Polesitter and early race leader Raul Fernandez eventually finished 11th, whilst one-time leader Gabriel Rodrigo was pushed down to 14th. 

Tatsuki Suzuki collided with Sergio Garcia at turn nine on the final lap. As a result, Garcia has been taken to the medical centre for a check-up.