2014 TT in numbers

1 of 1

The dust has now settled on what was an epic 2014 Isle of Man TT giving MCN contributor Phil Wain time to analyse and digest the winners, the losers and the history makers.

Below are 36 stats that put the achievements of the best road races in the world in to perspective.

• With 11 wins, Michael Dunlop is now the joint fifth, along with Steve Hislop and Phillip McCallen. Only Joey Dunlop (26), John McGuinness (21), Dave Molyneux (17) and Mike Hailwood (14) have won more.

• Michael Dunlop’s 11 wins have come by the time he was 25 – at the same age, Hailwood had won 7 races, Joey Dunlop and Steve Hislop 1 and John McGuinness none.

• Dunlop has now won races for four different manufacturers – Yamaha, Kawasaki, Honda and BMW. Hailwood, Molyneux and Stanley Woods have also achieved this feat.

• Dean Harrison was the only new member of the 130mph club meaning 14 riders have now achieved this mark. As well as Harrison, Bruce Anstey, Michael Dunlop and William Dunlop set their best ever 130mph+ lap at TT2014.

• Anstey’s new outright lap record of 132.298mph makes him the only rider to break the 132mph barrier whilst six other riders have lapped at more than 131mph – Michael Dunlop, John McGuinness, Conor Cummins, Ian Hutchinson, James Hillier and Guy Martin.

• 2014 was the first time Conor Cummins had lapped at more than 130mph since the opening lap of the 2010 Senior.

• Josh Brookes, Dan Kneen and David Johnson all lapped in excess of 129mph for the first time.

• Peter Hickman’s stunning lap of 129.104mph on the last lap of the Senior already makes him the 19th fastest rider of all time.

• 20 riders have now lapped at more than 129mph, the last of which is Dan Stewart at 129.077mph

• 8 riders lapped at more than 125mph for the first time meaning 40 riders have now achieved this mark.

• Big movers on the all-time fastest lap chart include Dan Cooper (up to 29th from 56th), Ivan Lintin (up to 33rd from 112th), Russ Mountford (up to 34th from 80th) and Jimmy Storrar (up to 34th from 90th). All four lapped at over 125mph for the first time.

• The fastest non-English speaking rider is now Stefano Bonetti. His lap of 125.022mph, set in this year’s Superbike race, makes him the 40th fastest rider of all time and bettered the previous best mark of 124.926mph held by German rider Rico Penzkofer

• 14 riders broke the 120mph barrier for the first, five of whom were newcomers – Peter Hickman, Martin Jessopp, Phil Crowe, Danny Webb and Vick de Cooremeter. The other riders were James Cowton, Michael Sweeney, Sam Wilson, Christopher Dixon, Alexander Pickett, Connor Behan, Eric Wilson, Daley Mathison and David Madsen-Mygdal.

• 168 riders have now lapped at over 120mph since Steve Hislop first achieved the mark in 1989.

• Despite posting their best laps 22 years ago (1992), Carl Fogarty and Steve Hislop are still the 70th and 73rd fastest riders respectively.

• Newcomer Vick de Cooremeter not only lapped at more than 120mph (120.424mph) but also became the fastest Belgian rider ever to have lapped the Mountain Course. The previous best was Michael Weynand (117.905mph).

• A whopping 760 riders have now lapped at more than 110mph – John Williams was the first to achieve this landmark in 1976.

• David Madsen-Mygdal, one of only two riders to start and finish more than 100 TT races, not only posted his first ever 120mph+ lap but also became only the second rider to record more than 300 racing laps of the Mountain Course at more than 110mph. Ian Lougher still leads the way on 330 but Madsen-Mygdal has now moved on to 313. John McGuinness has moved on to 292 with Joey Dunlop (256) and Adrian Archibald (236) in fourth and fifth.

• Juha Kallio became the first Finnish rider to lap at more than 115mph. Having crashed in practice on his debut twelve months ago, he won two bronze replicas in the Supersport races, posting a best lap of 117.132mph.

• The rider who improved his lap speed the most was Dominic Herbertson. He lapped at 106.753mph in the 2013 Newcomers Manx Grand Prix but posted a new personal best of 117.627mph in the Supersport class, an improvement of 10.874mph.

• 109 riders completed laps during the six solo races – 60 of these posted personal best laps of the Mountain Course.

• Guy Martin now holds the record for the most podiums without a win. His two podiums at TT2014 move him onto a total of 15, two more than Jason Griffiths who he previously shared the ‘accolade’ with.

• John McGuinness has posted more podiums than anyone else with 42. Joey Dunlop is next on 40, followed by Bruce Anstey (31), and Ian Lougher and Dave Molyneux (both 29)

• For the first time since 2003, McGuinness is no longer the outright lap record holder.

• This year was also the first time McGuinness has finished a 'big bike' race without standing on the podium since the 2000 Senior – in the years since then, he’s been 1st, 2nd, 3rd or retired from the F1/Superbike and Senior races.

• 2014 was also the first year since 2008 that McGuinness hasn’t lapped at more than 130mph. However, he’s still completed more racing laps at 130mph+ than any other rider with a total of 21. Michael Dunlop has moved onto 18 with Guy Martin up to third on 15.

• McGuinness also leads the way on 125mph+ laps with a total of 113. Martin is in second (89) followed by Anstey (83), Michael Dunlop (71) and Hutchinson (60).

• McGuinness also leads the way on 120mph+ laps with 212. The recently retired Ian Lougher remains in second (181) followed by Anstey (164), Martin (162) and Adrian Archibald (126).

• Triumph and Norton recorded their best ever laps of the Mountain Course in the hands of Gary Johnson (126.732) and Cameron Donald (124.058) respectively.

• The American Buell, contesting the TT for the first time, lapped at a more than respectable 122.996mph in the hands of Mark Miller.

• To be amongst the seeded riders (the top 20) in the 1000cc class at TT2015, a rider will have needed to have lapped at over 126mph.

• To be guaranteed an entry into the 1000cc races at TT2015 (70 riders), you will need to have lapped at more than 120mph. For the 600cc class, the mark will be 116mph.

• 25 years since winning his first TT, Dave Molyneux took his 17th victory when he won the second 3-lap sidecar race.

• There was just one new member of the 110mph club in the sidecars, Wayne Lockey/Mark Sayers who lapped at 110.344mph. A total of 22 crews have achieved this feat.

• 168 crews have now lapped at more than 100mph – the landmark was first achieved by Dick Greasley/Mick Skeels in 1977.

• The fastest ever female sidecar competitor, French woman Estelle Leblond, improved her best lap of the Mountain Course to 105.625mph.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Phil Wain

By Phil Wain