TT 2016: Anstey takes electric win as McGuinness suffers problem

1 of 1

Bruce Anstey has won his first TT Zero race after main rival and team-mate John McGuinness was forced to restart the bike mid-race.

Recording lap of 118.416mph, Anstey cruised to victory some 25 seconds ahead of second-placed William Dunlop on the Victory RR machine.

Daley Matheson took third on the University of Nottingham bike with a fastest lap of 99.884mph ahead of McGuinness, who despite the stop still lapped at 95mph.

Race Result

  1. Bruce Anstey - Mugen
  2. William Dunlop - Victory
  3. Daley Matheson – University of Nottingham       
  4. John McGuinness - Mugen
  5. Allann Venter – Brunel VX 6 

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing