Ad closing in seconds....

Hutchinson ups ante with 130mph lap on second night

Published: 31 May 2016

Ian Hutchinson upped the pace to break the 130mph barrier in this evening’s second big bike practice at year’s Isle of Man TT.

The iconic mountain course basked in sunshine once again as the combined Superstock, Superbike and Supersport session got underway on time.

Honda Racing’s John McGuinness led the way for most of the session with his first flying lap of 129.618mph, but Hutchinson stole the day on his final outing recording a lap of 130.626mph on his Tyco BMW S1000RR Superbike.  

Peter Hickman finished the session third with a 129.550mph lap ahead of Conor Cummins who recorded a 129.534mph lap while Dean Harrison was the last of the 129mph men with an average speed of 129.022mph.

Bruce Anstey upped the ante on the RCV, the Flying Kiwi was on for a session-topping lap at Cronk ny Mona on this final run before rolling off in the last sector but still went on to record the exotic Grand Prix replica’s fastest lap so far with an average speed of 128.508mph.

It was a strong evening overall for the New Zealander who recorded the fastest Supersport time on his Valvoline by Padgetts Racing CBR600RR with an average speed of 125.508mph ahead of Dean Harrison and Ian Hutchinson.

Hutchinson topped both of the 1000cc classes with the fastest lap in the Superstock category, a 128.723 ahead of TT veteran Michael Rutter and GBmoto Kawasaki’s Peter Hickman.

Ivan Lintin was quickest in the Lightweights class with an average speed of 118mph.

William Dunlop was a retirement in the early stages of the session on his YZF-R1 superbike but was able to get back to the pits to go out on his stocker and Supersport bikes, his brother Michael Dunlop was also reported as a retirement in the big bike class but was also able to get back for a lap on his 600.

John Holden and Andy Winkle continued to lead the sidecar class, upping their pace to 113.15mph. 

Superbike times (unofficial)

  1. Ian Hutchinson – 130.626
  2. John McGuinness – 129.618
  3. Peter Hickman - 129.550
  4. Conor Cummins - 129.534
  5. Dean Harrison -  129.022
  6. Bruce Anstey – 128.852
  7. Steve Mercer – 128.546
  8. Michael Rutter 127.392
  9. James Hillier – 127.144
  10. Ivan Lintin – 125.499

Superstock times (unofficial)

  1. Ian Hutchinson – 128.723
  2. Michael Rutter – 128.429
  3. Peter Hickman – 127.305
  4. David Johnson – 125.196
  5. Steve Mercer – 125.021
  6. William Dunlop - 124.709
  7. Alan Bonner – 123.539
  8. William Dunlop – 124.706
  9. Derek Sheils – 121.912
  10. Horst Saiger – 121.797

Supersport times (unofficial)

  1. Bruce Anstey -124.508
  2. Dean Harrison – 124.207
  3. Ian Hutchinson -123.757
  4. John McGuinness – 123.505
  5. Michael Dunlop – 123.170
  6. William Dunlop – 122.963
  7. James Hillier – 122.047
  8. Cameron Donald – 122.036
  9. Lee Johnston – 121.885
  10. Steve Mercer – 120.600
Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)