Ad closing in seconds....

Roads: Harrison halts Dunlop's Southern 100 domination

Published: 13 July 2017

Dean Harrison put an end to Michael Dunlop’s domination of this year’s Southern 100 with a stunning victory in this afternoon’s Manx Gas Solo Championship race.

However, the trophy they all went for didn’t go Harrison’s way easily with a titanic three-way battle breaking out throughout the nine lap encounter between the Yorkshireman, local star Dan Kneen and Dunlop, who won the opening three 1000cc races at the Billown circuit.

Just hours previous, Dunlop made history in the second Senior race as he cruised to his third victory of the week, shattering the lap record he had set earlier in the week with a blistering average speed of 115.267mph.


However, that record would also end up being short-standing with all three front-runners in the Solo Championship race beating it, but Dunlop would retain the accolade with his lap of 115.707mph marginally quicker than that of Harrison and Kneen.

The trip were separated by just 0.4 seconds as they crossed the line at the end of the nine lap race, with Harrison taking victory for Silicone Engineering Kawasaki by 0.1 over Kneen.

Jamie Coward crossed the line fourth ahead of James Cowton, while Dan Hegarty rounded out the top six.

It wasn’t Harrison’s only victory of the day either, with the Bradford born racer taking his second 600cc victory of the week in another close fought battle with Dunlop. The duo finished three seconds up on third placed James Cowton.

Ivan Lintin clocked up his second Lightweight victory of the week in the 250cc/650 outing ahead of Cowton and Hodson, while John Holden and Lee Cain took the spoils in the second sidecar outing after the retirement of race one victors the Birchall brothers. 

Manx Gas Solo Championship Race

  1. Dean Harrison – Kawasaki
  2. Dan Kneen – BMW 
  3. Michael Dunlop – Suzuki 
  4. Jamie Coward – BMW 
  5. James Cowton – Kawasaki 
  6. Dan Hegarty – Honda 
  7. Derek McGee – Kawasaki 
  8. Rob Hodson – BMW
  9. Sam West – BMW
  10. Mark Goodings – Kawasaki

Island Aggregates Senior Race

  1. Michael Dunlop – Suzuki
  2. Dan Kneen – BMW 
  3. Jamie Coward – BMW 
  4. Ivan Lintin – Kawasaki
  5. James Cowton – Kawasaki 
  6. Derek McGee – Kawasaki
  7. Rob Hodson – BMW 
  8. Sam West – BMW 
  9. Dan Hegarty – Honda 
  10. Davy Morgan – Kawasaki

S&S Motors 600cc Race

  1. Dean Harrison – Kawasaki
  2. Michael Dunlop – Yamaha
  3. James Cowton – Kawasaki
  4. Jamie Coward – Honda 
  5. Joe Thompson – Kawasaki 
  6. Ivan Lintin – Kawasaki 
  7. Dan Hegarty – Honda 
  8. Rob Hodson – Triumph
  9. Brendan Fargher – Yamaha 
  10. Gavin Lupton – Honda

Ocean Ford 250/650cc Race

  1. Ivan Lintin – Kawasaki 
  2. James Cowton – Kawasaki
  3. Rob Hodson – Kawasaki
  4. Joe Thompson – Yamaha 250cc 
  5. Derek McGee – Kawasaki
  6. Jonathan Perry - Kawasaki

Manx Gas Sidecar Championship Race

  1. John Holden/Lee Cain – LCR Honda 
  2. Wayne Lockey/Mark Sayers – Ireson Honda 
  3. Conrad Harrison/Andrew Winkle – Bellas Honda 
  4. Tony Baker/Shelly Smithers – Baker Suzuki 
  5. Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden – LCR Honda 
  6. Dan Knight/Matthew Rostron – Suzuki LCR

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN's Bikes For Sale App.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)