NW200: Jessopp takes Supersport victory

Published: 11 May 2017

Martin Jessopp took his debut Vauxhall North West 200 victory with a barnstorming performance in this evening’s opening Supersport race.

After taking the lead on the first lap, the Yeovil rider put up a strong fight from Ian Hutchinson, Alastair Seeley, Dean Harrison and later James Hillier before establishing a lead that wouldn’t be penetrated after the fourth lap.

It was an equally impressive performance for Hutchinson who led twice across the line aboard the all-new McAMS Yamaha YZF-R6, which hadn’t even turned a wheel before Tuesday’s openining practice session.

Polesitter Alastair Seeley was forced to retire at the end of the second lap as his machine started losing power, leaving Jessopp, Hutchinson and Harrison to fight it out.

James Hillier would make the most of the slipstream to join the leading group on lap four, crossing the line second to lead the chase for Jessopp.


However, Hutchinson would eventually get the better of the Kawasaki, setting the fastest lap of the race on lap five but it wasn’t enough to stop the Triumph of Jessopp who crossed the line with a 0.7 second lead.


  1. Martin Jessopp – Riders’ Motorcycles Triumph
  2. Ian Hutchinson – McAMS Yamaha +0.772
  3. James Hillier – JG Speedfit Kawasaki +1.229
  4. Dean Harrison – Silicone Engineering Kawasaki +1.461
  5. Lee Johnston – Jackson Racing Honda +1.835
  6. William Dunlop – IC Racing Yamaha +3.302
  7. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing Yamaha +3.732
  8. James Cowton – McAdoo Racing Kawasaki +11.571
  9. Jamie Coward – Radcliffe’s Honda +11.736
  10. Horst Saiger – Saiger Racing +17.729 

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN's Bikes For Sale App.