TT 2017: Hutchinson on top as weather interrupts second practice

1 of 1

Ian Hutchinson again led the way as practice resumed at this year’s Isle of Man TT, but riders would only get one full lap of the mountain course before poor weather brought an early end to proceedings.

Hutchinson was ready to up the ante on Wednesday evening as he went on to clock a quickest lap of 128.897mph from a standing start, some 15 seconds quicker than rival Michael Dunlop’s 127.228mph.

However, the session was brought to an early close as Hutchinson crossed the line as the forecast mist began to roll in over the mountain. The Clerk of the Course attempted to send bikes back out onto the track at full speed to Ramsey, where they’d await travelling marshals who would escort them over the mountain, but by the time the first riders arrived at Parliament Square conditions had worsened meaning the helicopter could no longer fly even on lower parts of the course.

With that the case, the remainder of the evening’s activity was cancelled and competitors were escorted at slow speed back to the Grandstand. 


Dean Harrison made the most of his one lap, clocking a time of 126.157mph after breaking down in yesterday’s session, ahead of Dan Kneen riding his superstock-spec BMW.

The second superstock machine of Peter Hickman followed with a time of 124.900mph ahead of Marco Pagani, James Hillier and Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda RC213V-S.

Lee Johnston was quickest of the 600cc machines, lapping the course with an average speed of 122.160mph, comfortably ahead of second-placed James Cowton.


  1. Ian Hutchinson – Tyco BMW – 128.987mph 
  2. Michael Dunlop – Bennetts Suzuki – 127.228mph 
  3. Dean Harrison – Silicone Engineering Kawasaki – 126.157mph 
  4. Dan Kneen [STK] – DTR BMW – 125.188mph 
  5. Peter Hickman [STK] – Smiths Racing BMW – 124.900mph 
  6. Conor Cummins – Padgetts Honda – 124.734mph 
  7. Marco Pagani – Team Franciacorta Corse by RMS – 124.718mph 
  8. James Hillier – JG Speedfit Kawasaki – 124.519mph 
  9. Bruce Anstey – Padgetts Honda – 124.140mph 
  10. Gary Johnson – Gary Johnson Suzuki – 124.107mph

Pick up a copy of our special edition McGuinness: Ordinary bloke. Extraordinary Racer. This special from MCN, celebrates the career of one of the sport’s best-loved road racers. Affectionately known as McPint, John’s career has wowed and entertained bike racing fans for more than 20 years. Buy it here. 

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN’s Bikes For Sale App.

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing