Ad closing in seconds....

TT 2018: Dunlop breaks five-year-old record on way to Supersport win

Published: 04 June 2018

Updated: 04 June 2018

Michael Dunlop sealed his 17th Isle of Man TT victory with a record-breaking ride in the opening Monster Energy Supersport race.

Having set the fastest lap by over 11 seconds across Supersport practice, Michael headed in to the four-lapper a clear favourite but Dean Harrison also looked strong.

It was Harrison who led at Glen Helen on the opening lap with the duo split by just 0.2 seconds, but by the end of the 37.73 miles Dunlop would be ahead by a second.

The Ballymoney man took the race by the scruff of the neck on the second lap as he annihilated his own five-year-old lap record with a stunning 129.197mph slowing into the pits.

That lap saw Dunlop cross the line six seconds ahead of Harrison with the duo in a class of their own with the battle for third between Peter Hickman and James Hillier thirty seconds down the road.

Having caught Harrison on the road, Dunlop tucked behind Harrison to bring it home with a gap of just under ten seconds with Harrison moving over to allow the victor to cross the line first.

With Hickman and Hillier split by just 0.098 seconds at Ballaugh on the last lap, third was wide open but it’d go to Smiths Triumph’s Peter Hickman.

Conor Cummins finished fifth ahead of Monster McAMS Yamaha’s Josh Brookes.

Gary Johnson finished seventh for RAF Reserves Triumph ahead of and the Padgetts Honda of Lee Johnston while James Cowton and Derek McGee rounded out the top ten. 

  1. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing Carl Cox Honda
  2. Dean Harrison – Silicone Engineering Kawasaki
  3. Peter Hickman – Smiths Trooper Triumph
  4. James Hillier – Quattro Plant JG Speedfit
  5. Conor Cummins – Padgetts Honda
  6. Josh Brookes – Monster McAMS Yamaha
  7. Gary Johnson – RAF Triumph
  8. Lee Johnston – Padgetts Honda
  9. James Cowton – McAdoo Kawasaki
  10. Ivan Lintin – Dafabet Devitt Kawasaki
Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)