Isle of Man TT 2024: Michael Dunlop claims historic 26th victory in Supersport opener

1 of 3

Michael Dunlop has equalled the all-time Isle of Man TT record after claiming his 26th victory in the opening Supersport race at this year’s event.

Dunlop moves level with his uncle Joey, who has held the record for 24 years with his victory, which is also his fifth consecutive Supersport success. The win comes after Dunlop opted to ditch the Triumph that he had used at the North West 200 and the beginning of TT qualifying week, for the Yamaha R6.

The 35-year-old was third after the opening lap behind Dean Harrison and Davey Todd, but had taken the lead of the race by the time he reached Ballaugh Bridge for the second time. From there, Dunlop was unstoppable and crossed the line with an advantage of 8.5s.

Second place for Davey Todd onboard the Powertoolmate Ducati V2

Dunlop’s victory also takes him to 40 TT podiums, once again moving him level with Joey Dunlop. Michael Dunlop now has seven more chances to become the all-time record holder at the TT.

Todd and Harrison had exchanged positions multiple times during the opening lap and beginning of lap two, but Todd held the advantage by Ramsey, with Harrison unable to overhaul the Powertoolmate Ducati man. It’s Todd’s best result yet at the TT.

Todd is not only targeting a maiden TT victory, but in the Supersport class, a victory onboard the Ducati V2 would be the first at the TT for the Italian manufacturer since Robert Holden’s Supermono victory in 1995.

Dean Harrison was third on his Honda debut

Harrison completed the podium in his first TT outing as a Honda Racing UK rider, moving the 2019 Senior TT winner onto a total of 27 TT podiums.

James Hillier finished fourth ahead of James Hind, who secures his best TT result, and FHO Racing BMW’s Josh Brookes. Paul Jordan was seventh onboard the Jackson Racing Honda, ahead of Mike Browne, with Peter Hickman down in ninth onboard his Trooper Triumph.

It’s the first time that Hickman has finished off the podium in the Supersport class since 2016. Michael Evans completed the top 10 for Smiths Racing Triumph.

Sunday June 2 Schedule

11:30 – Mountain Road Closes

12:30 – Roads Close

13:30 – Solo Warm Up (1 lap)

14:40  RST Superbike TT Race (6 laps)