Bayliss and Edwards share Laguna Seca glory

1 of 1

Race one was won by Australian reigning champion Troy Bayliss, from his teammate Ruben Xaus, with championship rival Colin Edwards in third. Edwards had led for much of the race, until lap 23, when he lost the rear end of his works Honda in turn five, and allowed Xaus and Bayliss through. Xaus moved into the lead, before Bayliss was able to pass, and win the race by 0.339.

Edwards claimed third, just ahead of American wildcard, Nicky Hayden. Neil Hodgson took fifth, with teammate James Toseland ninth, Chris Walker eleventh, and Mark Heckles finishing in twentieth place.

Race Two ended in victory for Edwards. The Texan took the lead from fellow American Eric Bostrom on lap four, and despite losing it briefly to Bayliss on lap 23, Edwards was able to pass the Australian for the win.

Bayliss had to fight for his second place, swapping positions with Neil Hodgson, until finally reaching the flag 0.6 seconds before the Brit. Hodgson took the final place on the podium ahead of Eric Bostrom, and brother Ben Bostrom.

James Toseland finished sixth, with Chris Walker improving on his first race position with a tenth, and Mark Heckles again twentieth.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff