WSB: First qualifying

1 of 1

Australians dominated the first world superbike qualifying session at Phillip Island on Friday April 1, with Troy Corser taking the fastest lap and six of the top eight riders hailing from Australia.

After their success in the first round of the championship Suzuki riders Troy Corser and Yukio Kagayama again held the top of the time sheets for most of the session with only Ducati’s Regis Laconi offering any challenge.

Yamaha rider Andrew Pitt took the final place on the front row of the provisional grid almost a second down on Corser.

The second row of the grid was populated entirely by Aussies. Karl Muggeridge and Chris Verneulen taking fifth and sixth for Ten Kate Honda but the surprise came from the Foggy Petronas pairing of Garry McCoy and Steve Martin who took the seventh and eighth fastest laps on their underpowered triples.

James Toseland only took 15th overall but the current champion opted not to use qualifying tyres and concentrate entirely on race setup. He was the only rider in the top 15 not to use the tyres and before everyone switched to the stickier compound he was running in the top three.

Chris Walker finished just ahead of Toseland in 14th.

Time is running out to choose your Fantasy Road Race team for this round of the championship with no rider changes allowed after midnight tonight, Friday April 1.

Official Superbike times:

Corser T.,1:33.191

Kagayama Y.,1:33.787

Laconi R.,1:34.084

Pitt A.,1:34.094

Muggeridge K.,1:34.364

Vermeulen C.,1:34.405

McCoy G.,1:34.491

Martin S.,1:34.499

Sanchini M.,1:34.676

Chili P.,1:34.775

Abe N.,1:34.960

Gimbert S.,1:35.178

Cardoso J.,1:35.237

Walker C.,1:35.282

Toseland J.,1:35.344

Bussei G.,1:35.381

Clementi I.,1:35.478

Pedercini L.,1:35.565

Bostrom B.,1:35.596

Haga N.,1:35.715

Alfonsi L.,1:35.787

Lanzi L.,1:35.976

Borciani M.,1:36.130

Vizziello G.,1:36.556

Neukirchner M.,1:36.788

Stroud A.,1:36.873

Corradi A.,1:37.457

Praia M.,1:37.509

Nieto F.,1:37.603

Official Supersport times:

Charpentier S.,1:35.999

Fabrizio M.,1:36.327

Curtain K.,1:36.932

Foret F.,1:37.075

Fujiwara K.,1:37.177

Stigefelt J.,1:37.912

Cogan C.,1:37.983

Parkes B.,1:38.021

Nannelli G.,1:38.242

Chambon S.,1:38.424

Vd Goorbergh J.,1:38.854

Fores J.,1:38.922

Garcia D.,1:39.547

Antonello A.,1:40.115

Lauslehto T.,1:40.737

Berta A.,1:40.902

Miksovsky T.,1:40.907

Szkopek P.,1:41.183

Baiocco M.,1:42.744

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff