WSB: Kagayama on pole

1 of 1

Yukio Kagayama has taken pole position for the Phillip Island round of the World Superbike championship despite setting only the fifth fastest time in the second qualifying session.
The Alstara Corona Suzuki rider had dominated the first qualifying session along with team-mate Troy Corser and despite slowing in the second session he went on to set a scortching Superpole lap to take the top spot.
Corser topped both qualifying sessions but he slipped to fourth on the grid in Superpole.
Steve Martin continued to impress on the Foggy Petronas FP1 by taking the second fastest time in the superpole session, just 0.06 of a second behind Kagayama.
Series new boy Max Neukirchner took an impressive third place on the Klaffi Honda relegating Corser to his fourth place start.
Three Aussies make up most of the second row of the grid with Andrew Pitt coming in fifth fastest followed by Karl Muggeridge and Garry McCoy on the second FP1.
The local boys forced French Ducati rider Regis Laconi down to an eighth place start.
Current champion James Toseland qualified in 10th place just behind Chris Vermeulen and one in front of Giovani Bussei. Brit Chris Walker qualified in 13th on the PSG-1 Kawasaki.
Race 1 will be shown at 3am (British Time) on Eurosport and repeated again at 5am just before the start of the live coverage of the second race.
Check out MCN this Wednesday for a full behind the scenes analysis of the Phillip Island races. Superbike grid positions:
Y. Kagayama
S. Martin
M. Neukirchner
T. Corser
A. Pitt
K. Muggeridge
G. McCoy
R. Laconi
C. Vermeulen
J. Toseland
G. Bussei
N. Abe
C. Walker
G. Vizziello
J. Cardoso
M. Sanchini
P. Chili
I. Clementi
N. Haga
L. Alfonsi
S. Gimbert
F. Nieto
B. Bostrom
A. Corradi
L. Pedercini
M. Borciani
L. Lanzi
A. Stroud
M. Praia

Supersport grid positions:
Charpentier S.
Fabrizio M.
Foret F.
Curtain K.
Fujiwara K.
Chambon S.
Nannelli G.
Stigefelt J.
Vd Goorbergh J.
Fores J.
Cogan C.
Parkes B.
Antonello A.
Lauslehto T.
Garcia D.
Szkopek P.
Berta A.
Miksovsky T.
Baiocco M.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff