Bayliss does Brit double

1 of 1

Troy Bayliss has completed a World Superbike double with two wins at the Silverstone round of the championship on Sunday, May 28, 2006.

Bayliss had to fight hard in both races to overcome a strong Noriyuki Haga, with James Toseland giving home fans something to cheer about with two fine third places.

WSB race two:

Chris Walker shot into the lead of the second race, with Bayliss and haga close behind. Wildcard and pole sitter Tommy Hill tucked into fourth, with Troy Corser, Toseland and Muggeridge close behind. Despite the valiant attempts of Walker, he could only hold Haga behind him for the opening stages, and Bayliss soon followed as the pair resumed their race one battle.

Quality bikes for sale. Click here.

MCN and user bike reviews. Click here.

Browse over 1700 product reviews. Click here.

As the lead duo pulled clear, Toseland emerged from an eight-wheeled battle in front of Andrew Pitt, Chris Walker and Troy Corser. As Alex Barros and Ruben Xaus futher demoted Walker and Corser, it was the Australian Suzuki rider who recovered his composure, repassing Xaus to take sixth. By this time Alex Barros has pulled clear for a safe fifth, and Toseland had maintained a gap over fourth place Andrew Pitt, celebrating at the end of the race by stripping down to his boxer shorts in front of the home fans. Bayliss another win to extend his lead in the championship. To see the full results, click here.

World Superbike race one:

Troy Bayliss has won the opening race at Silverstone at the second attempt after two big crashes caused the race to be red flagged during the first lap. At the very first corner riders including Fabien Foret, Troy Corser and Alex Barros crashed, with Barros only escaping injury by jumping as a burning bike slid underneath him. Fonsi Nieto and Craig Jones also fell, with Jones ruled out of the restart by his team as he was suffering with double vision.

When the race restarted, it was Noryuki Haga who led from Bayliss and Chris Walker. By the end of the second lap, Troy Corser had a low speed fall at the Woodcote chicane, remounting to eventually retire.

Ruben Xaus then moved through the field, taking second behind Haga. James Toseland drops to fifth briefly before starting to chase down and eventually pass Ruben Xaus, who had been demoted to third on lap 12. Toseland sets after the battling leading duo, but can’t quite close the gap before the chequered flag. Bayliss takes the win after a titanic sturggle with the lead swapping three times on lap 17 alone. Britain’s Chris Walker finishes sixth, with wildcard Tommy Hill in 12th. To see the full time sheet, click here.

World Supersport:

Sebastien Charpentier led from the start of the World Supersport race, taking the win from Broc Parkes. Parkes recorded the fastest lap of the race but couldn’t challenge the Frenchman. Kevin Curtain was third ahead of wildcard Pere Riba in fourth. Stuart Easton wa top Brit in 15th place, with Tom Tunstall moving up from 36th on the grid to finished 22nd. Sam Owens finished in 24th, while Stephen Neate retired. To see the full time sheet, click here.

Superstock 1000cc race:

Claudio Corti has won the Superstock 1000 race in commanding fashion. The Yamaha rider tailed fellow Italian Polita for several laps before picking his spot for a clean pass as they entered the Complex section and quickly pulling out a gap. Polita took second from Badovini, Scassa and Rocamora.

Top Brit Richard Cooper finished in a fine 13th place on the MS Racing Honda, in front of team-mate Smrz. Guy Sanders finished in 18th, dropping from a good qualifying position, with Howie Manwaring finishing in 20th. To see the full time sheet, click here.

Superstock 600cc race:

Niccolo Canepa won the 600cc Superstock race from Xavier Simeon and Davie Giugliano. Britain’s Barry Burrell took seventh place. Matt Bond took 15th, Chris Northover 16th, and Greg Black took 18th. To see the full timesheet, click here.

Suzuki GSX-R Cup.

Wilcards Brendan Roberts and Tommy Bridewel had a race-long battle in the GSX-R European Cup after early leader Xavier Simeon crashed out. Roberts pipped Vivaldi Suzuki BSB rider Bridewell by just over 0.3 seconds to the chequered flag. With wildcards not scoring championship points, the maximum of 25 went to third placed Simone Castellani.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff