Curtain surprise package

1 of 1

Kevin Curtain was the surprise package of the opening Supersport qualifying in Valencia after ending the first session in third place, despite having a heavily plated and pinned left collarbone.

Curtain didn’t even know if he’d be fit to ride after breaking his collarbone at Donington Park two weeks ago.

But the tough Australian was on the pace all session. Despite being in pain, Curtain refused any pain killers and isn’t planning on using them at any point over the weekend.

Speaking to MCN he said: “It’s surprising, I thought the pain would be too much to really push, but it was actually ok.

“I knew I needed to put in a good time because we don’t know what the weather will be doing tomorrow.”

Current championship leader Keenan Sofuoglu set the pace in the opening session to go provisional pole with fellow Honda man Katsuaki Fujiwara backing up his impressive ride at Donington to secure second quickest.

Andrew Pitt, standing in for the injured Sebastian Charpentier, brushed of a crash at turn two when he fell on another rider’s oil to post the fifth fastest time onboard the Ten Kate Honda.

Britain’s Craig Jones struggled to get to grips with the Spanish track and will have a lot of work to do tomorrow after qualifying in 18th place.

First qualifying results:

  1. Sofuoglu Hannspree Ten Kate Honda 1:37.521
  2. Fujiwara Althea Honda Team 1:37.729
  3. Curtain Yamaha World SSP Racing 1:37.885
  4. Riba Team Gil Motor Sport 1:38.095
  5. Pitt Hannspree Ten Kate Honda 1:38.478
  6. Foret Team Gil Motor Spor 1:38.524
  7. Veneman Pioneer Hoegee Suzuki Racing 1:38.532
  8. Nannelli Team Caracchi Ducati SC 1:38.564
  9. Harms Stiggy Motorsport Honda 1:38.568
  10. Lascorz Glaner Motocard 1:38.649
  11. Parkes Yamaha World SSP Racing 1:38.681
  12. Fores HP Racing 1:38.734
  13. Alfonsi Althea Honda Team 1:38.753
  14. Giugliano Lightspeed Kawasaki Supp 1:38.915
  15. Salom Yamaha Spain 1:39.008
  16. Roccoli Yamaha Lorenzini by Leon 1:39.016
  17. Sanna Racing Team Parkalgar 1:39.086
  18. Jones Revè Ekerold Honda Racing 1:39.160
  19. Vizziello RG Team 1’39.243
  20. Kallio Pioneer Hoegee Suzuki Racing 1:39.245
  21. Checa Yamaha – GMT 94 1’39.283
  22. Boccolini Team PMS Kawasaki Supported 1:39.524
  23. Lagrive Intermoto Czech 1:39.539
  24. Gimbert Yamaha – GMT 94 1:39.575
  25. Ivanov Vector Racing Team 1:39.704
  26. Tiberio Stiggy Motorsport Honda 1:39.757
  27. Peris Yamaha-Moto 1 1:39.915
  28. Oraia Racing Team Parkalgar 1:40.238
  29. Lauslehto Intermoto Czech 1:40.259
  30. Milovanovic Team Benjan Motoren 1:40.423
  31. Günther CRS Grand Prix 1:40.566
  32. Bonastre Yamaha Factory 1:40.774
  33. Leblanc  Vazy Racing Team 1:41.037
  34. Polzer LBR Racing Team 1:41.331
  35. Hidalgo Hidalva Team 1:41.349
  36. Forner Yamaha Spain 1:41.370
  37. Enjolras Tati Team Beaujolais Racing 1:41.436



Michael Guy

By Michael Guy

Sports Editor, former 250-racer and adventure rider