Toseland takes title lead with win

1 of 1

James Toseland has taken the lead in the 2007 World Superbike championship with a hard-fought victory in the second race at Phillip Island.

Max Biaggi led up to the first corner, but got pushed back in the first corner, with Toseland and Bayliss eventually dropping Troy Corser and Noriyuki Haga. Reigning champion Bayliss moved into the lead around midway through the race, but was unable to fend off Toseland.

Haga took third from Biaggi, after Corser ended an impressive late surge by running onto the dirt and being forced to settle for fifth.

1. James Toseland
2. Troy Bayliss
3. Noriyuki Haga
4. Max Biaggi
5. Troy Corser
6. Ruben Xaus
7. Lorenzo Lanzi
8. Michel Fabrizio
9. Max Neukirchner
10. Roberto Rolfo

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…



The voice of motorcycling since 1955