Biaggi fastest in three day Phillip Island WSB test

1 of 2

Aprilia’s Max Biaggi has ended the first round of testing at Phillip Island with the fastest time.

Riding the Aprilia RSV4, Biaggi survived a day two fall at Honda Hairpin to get his pre season testing back on track after struggling last month in Portugal.

He now heads into round one of the championship on 27th Feb to 1st March with renewed confidence but, believes there are still important changes to be made.

Biaggi’s lap time of 1m 32.59s is match for the fastest lap of in the 2008 race of 1m 32.52 set by Troy Bayliss.

Biaggi said: “I am happy to be the fastest and to have got down to this time. Between myself and Shinya (Nakano) we have tested everything and understand what we have available.

“We still need to make adjustments but now this can not happen until after the race.”

Regis Laconi secured second spot onboard the DFXtreme Ducati 1098 with a time of 1m 32.60s.

The former factory Ducati rider and 2004 series runner-up has had no problem reacquainting himself to v-twin power after three fruitless years onboard the PSG-1 Kawasaki.

Aprilia’s Shinya Nakano was also on the pace to set the third fastest time and like his Italian team-mate has clearly improved the performance of the RSV4..

Factory Kawasaki man, Broc Parkes performed well at his home circuit to take fourth with a time of 1m 32.90s.

Showing his credentials as a Superbike rider the Australian outpaced his team-mate Makoto Tamada and confirmed the impressive development of the ZX-10R by the British based team.

Leon Haslam continued his progression to finish the test satisfied and ready to race. The 25 year old Brit told MCN he’d logged a 1m 32.0s lap but the unofficial timings credited him with a 1m32.2s best.

Tommy Hill continued to make the most of his track time onboard the Altea Honda to end his two day test sixth fastest just 0.7 seconds off Biaggi’s impressive pace.

The next round of testing takes place on Saturday and Sunday at Phillip Island with Xerox Ducat, Ten Kate Honda, Alstare Suzuki, Yamaha Superbike and BMW will be on track,


1.       Max Biaggi (Aprilia) 1’32″59
2.       Regis Laconi (Ducati) 1’32″60
3.       Shinya Nakano (Aprilia) 1’32″72
4.       Broc Parkes (Kawasaki) 1’32″90
5.       Leon Haslam (Honda) 1’33″20
6.       Tommy Hill (Honda) 1’33″30 
7.       Roberto Rolfo (Honda) 1’33″50
8.       Makoto Tamada (Kawasaki) 1’33″90


1.       Anthony West (Honda) 1’35″90;
2.       Mathieu Lagrive (Honda) 1’36″00;
3.       Mark Aitchison (Honda) 1’36″00;
4.       Gianluca Vizziello (Honda) 1’36″70.