Eugene Laverty is Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

1 of 1

Eugene Laverty has won the coveted Irish Motorcyclist of the Year award.

The World Supersport runner-up edged out WSB star Jonathan Rea and Irish national road racer Ryan Farquhar.

Final standings: 
1st Eugene Laverty
2nd Jonathan Rea
3rd Ryan Farquhar
4th Michael Laverty
5th Marshall Neill
6th Alistair Seeley
7th Michael Dunlop
8th Robert Hamilton

Other awards:
Off Road Rider of the Year - Robert Hamilton
Most Promising Off Road Rider of the Year - John Meara
Most Promising Short Circuit Rider of the Year - Josh Elliott
Most Promising Road Racer of the Year - William Davison
Classic Rider of the Year- Denis Gallagher
Wheels 125 production - Corey McGreavey
125 GP - Jason Lynne
Chris Nichol Award - Michael Sweeney
Services to Sport - George McCann
Best Short Circuit Rider Award - Eugene Laverty
Best Road Racer Award - Ryan Farquhar

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Stephen Davison

By Stephen Davison

Biographer of John McGuinness & road racing's foremost writer & photographer