Misano WSB: Tom Sykes takes pole

Published: 11 June 2011

Factory Kawasaki rider Tom Sykes will start tomorrow's WSB races at Misano from pole position after knocking Carlos Checa off the top spot in damp conditions.

Championship leader Carlos Checa set the fastest time during the second superpole session, but was unable to beat Sykes in the slippery coniditions during the final session.

Effenbert Liberty Racing Ducati rider Jakub Smrz and Factory Yamaha rider Marco Melandri complete the front row.

Brit Leon Haslam starts from fifth, a fall meaning he was unable to improve on his time. Despite a hard fall yesterday Troy Corser starts from sixth, ahead of Max Biaggi and Sylvain Guintoli.

Eugene Laverty, Jonathan Rea and Leon Camier start from 10th, 11th and 16th respectively.

1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'55.197
2. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'55.373
3. Jakub Smrz (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'55.745
4. Marco Melandri (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 1'55.768
5. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'56.034
6. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'56.285
7. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'56.480
8. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'57.054
9. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'57.374
10. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team) Yamaha YZF R1 1'57.454
11. Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 1'57.831
12. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'58.509
13. Michel Fabrizio (Team Suzuki Alstare) Suzuki GSX-R1000 2'02.235
14. Maxime Berger (Supersonic Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 2'02.440
15. Ruben Xaus (Castrol Honda) Honda CBR1000RR 1'36.728
16. Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'36.742
17. Noriyuki Haga (PATA Racing Team Aprilia) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'37.077
18. Matteo Baiocco (Barni Racing Team S.N.C.) Ducati 1098R 1'37.104
19. Lorenzo Lanzi (BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'37.178
20. Alessandro Polita (Barni Racing Team S.N.C.) Ducati 1098R 1'37.220
21. Roberto Rolfo (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'37.362
22. Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 
23. Mark Aitchison (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R